You are here: HomeNews2013 09 21Article 286537

Akufo-Addo’s recklessness cost Ghana $19.5m – Minister

Read Comments Comments (119)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

corrupt and more corrupt

• NPP Disillusioned Desperadoes 10 years ago

This case must not be glossed over and pushed under the carpet. It must be thoroughly investigated so that any corrupt /underhand dealings will expose the criminal elements pretending to be politicians.

• JAIL THAT 419 POLITICIAN! 10 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

Akufo-Addo does not only need to “to come and explain to us (Ghanaians) why they terminated the service of solicitors we contracted in the U.K”, he needs to give ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

ALL GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• facts 10 years ago

A whole minister cannot open up his mouth politely, oh no, where are we? Let the law take its course and stop being unnecesarily offensive. There is noway Nana Addo would cause any financial loses of this type to our state. H ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

They are not qualified always talk rot
    hence the abuses.

• Upsidedown 10 years ago

I wonder the number of stupid fools that are in ministerial positions paid to just bleat. No wonder, if the people who are supposed to watch are being watched, what else?

why shouldn't we call pepeni a fool as its not an insult but a fact . All these scandals ,tribal ethnic biased anti Akan ministerial appointments non action on worthy projects and action on foolishness and stupid corrupt dea ...

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Irresponsible gaffe by an irresponsible NDC imbecile minister.

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

Well said Odikro,Ghananains need explanation to this, it stinks to the core

• NONSENSE 10 years ago

THIS CASE MUST BE REVIEWED STARTING FROM THE BEGINNING. I THINK THE DUBIOUS DEBT OCCURED UNDER JJ RAWLINGS AND HE MUST BE INVITED TOO.. WHO GAVE TSATSU THE AUTHORITY TO NEGOTIATE THIS DUBIOUS AGREEMENT FOR GHANA? WHO ARE THE ...

• Jake 10 years ago

The whole saga is unfolding.
    If you were of sane mind, you would not use your political think-cap to ignore the fact that, a minister does not, should not be allowed to sell a country's asset, collecting the cheque and disbu ...

This is pure nonesense.

• Enyo 10 years ago

Tsatsu took Ghana for a big ride. He thought what belonged to Ghana was his. Thief, he should be in jail.

• Opionionated 10 years ago

All what these stupid idiots in the Ndc are trying to do is score political points and even the score when it comes to judgement debt.
    If SG didn't have a case then, they don't have a case now. What stops them going back to ...

• STOP AND THINK 10 years ago

WHY SHOULD NANA BE BROUGHT IN THERE BY KUFFOUR? WHY SHOULD NANA TERMINATE THE WORK OF THE GHANA'S SOLICITOR WITH THE CASE? TO ALLOW THEIR MEMBER GO FREE.

l agree withyou,He sacked the solicitor,reason known to Him.

• mame 10 years ago

NDC is a criminal organisation turned a political party, Dr.Aggrey once said, if you bring a crow from the bush send it home feed it with all kinds of food in the house treat it as a darling pet, love it with all your heart ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Nana is fake and took bribe

• Minta 10 years ago

HE IS A PEOBLEM TO GHANA DEVELOPMENT

This foolish man wants tobe President
    for Ghana,how can that be,even as a Lawyer cannt represent the Country,
    Bullshit.

lf Nana is reckless like Tsikata to
    incured debt for the country,why not
    jail him too.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

NDC idiots led by the rotten teeth Akpeteshie red mouth Tatsu Tsikata recklessly tossed Ghana money everywhere and then called on so-called external solicitors to come and milk us again. Now you are blaming Nana Addo for refu ...

• NONSENSE 10 years ago

KOJO T, IF NANA IS A FAKE LAWYER, WHAT WOULD SAY ABOUT MAHAMA? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAA!!! AVERY, VERY, VERY, STUPID, FOOLISH, CLUELESS, AND CORRUPT LEADER GHANA HAS EVER GOT.

• serumPSA 10 years ago

massa this concerned me and you our children and not dirty politics let all come together and see how we stop this once and for all please

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Did Ghana really need an external solicitors? Where were the Tsatsu Tsikata and the other much touted LEGAL LUMINARIES? Why can't Ghanaians wait for Akuffo Addo to return from Sabbatical leave to present his side of the story ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

I am with you. We need his side of the story!

• ADE 10 years ago

THIS SUSPICIOUS DEAL OCCURRED UNDER JJ RAWLINGS REGIME AND MUST BE INVITED TOO. I THINK JJ AND TSATSU COLLUDED TO NEGOTIATE THIS DUBIOUS DEAL SINCE THERE WAS NO PARLIAMENT TO APPROVE THIS DEAL, THIS TWO TROKOSIS WHO AMASSED A ...

• Go go 10 years ago

That is why he is trying hard to be a president so that he can use Ghana again.Thief! GOD DOESN'T SLEEP HE WILL TAKE CARE OF HIS COUNTRY GHANA.KIING SOLOMON LEFT IT,ONE DAY YOU WILL ALSO DO THE SAME.

• Abu Issaka 10 years ago

thieves.

• Bibini 10 years ago

We are not supposed to believe everything we read but if it is true Akufo Addo had a hand in this loss, then he is no more material for Ghana president. Period.

• Ben 10 years ago

Tsatsu has caused so much loss to this country.

• Bibini 10 years ago

Ben can you tell us how and what he Tsatsu lost. I don't support anyone but would appreciate if you could inform me more about what you know.

• Baffour 10 years ago

Find out on why Kwesi Bitchwey resigned as Finance Minister and the IMF report that stated that Tsatsu Tsikata should be prosecuted. This is to engage your mind and not spoon feed you.

• CHE ANDREW 10 years ago

Please this is very important as it is interesting. Could would kindly show the reference documents or websites so that we can learn about these two issues? I have been combing the IMF websites but have not succeeded in getti ...

• Jake 10 years ago

ben and baffour change monickers to spew untruth.
    They've gone to their paymasters for a follow up story.

• Kay 10 years ago

This greedy man has caused so much damage to the finances of this country. There is o space to describe what he did. He crowned it by snatching his PR from her legitimate husband. God will deal with him.

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

NDC should be ashamed of itself! Your politics is essentially none entity. Everything bad is done by Akuffo Addo! Crazy.

• Okainjah Cowboy 10 years ago

They are all pen thieves,they should explain and pay back...MAA DZUWALOI/ODZOTSUALOI

Then this criminal want to be a president of Ghana. (Tofiakor)it will never happened.

• Kobena 10 years ago

Litigation in British courts cost money. Have you asked why in January 2001 the British Government had to provide to Range Rover vehicles before President Kufuor could be sworn in? Where exactly do you think the £700,000 nee ...

• Jake 10 years ago

Even when caught with your hands in the cookie jar, you have explanations.
    Laws differ from country to country hence you need a Mexican lawyer to contest a case in Mexico and so forth. S-G tried in every country and found th ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

Jake,
    It is obvious that you cannot read, neither do you know anything about Ghana, not even about how very simple names are spelt in different parts of Ghana! Where did you see "£700K for swearing in a president? Nyena abo ...

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

I am of the opinion that Ghana must go to some length to dig for the truth. All politicians must not take the country for granted.

• mohammed 10 years ago

what is the name of the law firm that represented ghana before Nana took over the traditional meant for the Ghana Attorney General and failed to show up.

• Say the Truth 10 years ago

WELL KEEP ON BLAMING NANA AKUFO ADDO EVEN BLAME HIM ON THE CURRENT ECONOMUC MESS OF GHANA, HIGH PRICES OF TRANSPORTATION, ENEGY, DUMS) DUMS90, WATER, ROAD ACCIDENT, CEDI DEPRECIATION BLAME IT ALL ON AKUFO ADDO!!!

DON'T BLA ...

• ABU 10 years ago

And Akuffo Addo wants to lead Ghana,and at all cost and means

• peace 10 years ago

THIS A STUPID TOO OLD WOYOME IS WALKING FREE WAKE UP PEPENI AND NDC

• Efo Canada 10 years ago

Why Ewes are afraid of this one man? You guys are educated fine with everybody but the fact is you have just knowledge and lack wisdom which is essential in life .Using your educated idiots full of shits attacking this man w ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

You are a fool. The fact is Akufo-Addo is a crook and we shall be on his neck till he enters his grave. Ewes are ready for any public disturbances. You are a fool, Keta defence wall idiot. We are educated and let us see how t ...

• efo 10 years ago

don't mind that son of a street dog

• Akpaklika Mewua Lo Ode 10 years ago

The voltarians are very principled. They will not use contacts to defer development to other regions that need a fair share.

Some of are so genitally corrupt that no success ever comes without a "connection"

What a cult ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Novinye, that's one disgraceful hallmark of these our cousins. They believe in "contacts" and "connections" to the extent that they don't even realise when they suborn people to murder their uncles just to inherit him!! Hmmmm ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Bastard son of a raped she-ape, is that all you can say? Ewes are never selfish and are not more corrupt than your stock - anyway you are NOT an Efo. Why don't you use your animal shit name? We Ewes are proud to be Ewes and n ...

• BARBARIC NPP PARTY 10 years ago

Its so disgusting that this nonsense akans think Ghana is for them alone. Its simply because they lack knowledge and simple technical know-how. Ewes are 99.9% better than akans and are more sociable than these troublesome aka ...

I felt so sad that the then Gold Coast actually agreed to have these outcasts as part of Ghana.
    If only we had left them alone to be tortured.

Stupid ewes!!

Failing to represent the interest of the state? Coming from an NDC deputy minister? Are talking about the Woyome case here?

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

And this guy wants to be the president of My dear country, GHANA. "at all cost".
    We will use this very case, his "virtual" law certificate among others as issues against him should dares becoming the presidential candidate f ...

• Kotei 10 years ago

just as good he did not win the election. he would have used his position to shield himself from this case. you can sense why he is still thinking to become the president given the chance. otherwise he would have announced hi ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

I told you sometime ago that, Agyekum Kufuor is a crook, Akufo-Addo is a crook and the NPP Party as a whole is made up of crooks.

• Seymour Gray LL.B. (USA) 10 years ago

THE NPP AND NANA ADDO AKUFO-ADDO ARE STRONG THINKERS WHO WILL MAKE THE BEST CHOICE ON THE PATH TO FOLLOW. WE ONLY NEED TO TRUST AND FOLLOW.

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

I am surprised the host of news file allowed Agalga to make such a baseless claim against Akuffo Addo. The US Courts refused to seize the ship on jurisdictional grounds not on the merit of the case..Therefore. Agalga's asse ...

• Mmoatia_Komfour 10 years ago

An application to seize the ship when it was in Mexican and Panamanian( country of registration) waters respectively? In the UK Court, SG was heading for yet another shelacking that is why it stalled turning over vital docume ...

• CAPII 10 years ago

HOW DID $45.7 MIL. GNPC DEBT OCCUR IN THE FIRST PLACE ? SIMPLE,STONE AGE TSATSU'S INCOMPETENCE BROUGHT FINANCIAL LOSS TO THE STATE. AGAIN FROM 2008--2013 GHANA'S DEBT STOCK 43.5 MIL CEDIS UNDER NDC,POOR ECONOMIC MANAGEMENT.

• NOTOROUS PEOPLE'S PARTY(NPP) 10 years ago

CAPII TIME FOR ALL THOSE SUPPORTING HIDDEN CRIMINALS BE BOW CRIMINALS BE BOW DOWN IN SHAME.TSATSU WAS ONLY JAILED BECAUSE NPP THAT TIME NEEDED MONEY FOR THEIR POCKET THUS MAKING THAT NASTY MOVE.ALL THOSE INVOLVED WILL BE PU ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Both political parties in Ghana are hiding the truth from the average Ghanaian and here we are displaying our ignorance about the whole issue. Instead of holding some people responsible for the sale of the ship, we are exhib ...

• JAH 10 years ago

IT'S ABOUT TIME NDC AND NPP SUPPORTERS HAVE TO COME TOGETHER AND FIGHT THIS FOOLS

• JAH 10 years ago

CAPII,YOU ARE A BIG FOOL WHEN WE TALKING ABOUT GHANA U ARE PLAYING PARTY GAME

• Cool Cat 10 years ago

It seems Ghanaians are still sleeping
    There is way that the so call Akufo-
    Addo will be president. He is one of the wahara Ashanti who has nothing to do but to distroy the nation.
    Sorry to say he should go to Gillis vill ...

• Anthony 10 years ago

Bulshit all Political Leaders of this Country, Bulshit all Lawyers represent this country except the few ones who wants to help develop this Nation. Let me ask this question and Let the Politicians Answer me.

WHAT IS THE D ...

• PEKI TUMU 10 years ago

The Presidency of Mills denied Ghanaians these insights into some of these bad ways of the NPP administration under Kuffour.
    It was evident from the onset that they were full of themselves and instead of allowing themselves ...

• V.K Offei Bronx N Y 10 years ago

Nana shd answer the sale of national asset which had been bought with Ghanaians money for oil project.

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

NDC has tried every means to soil Nana Addo's name but for God's sake, it will not wash. He is always victorious unless Satan the devil is employed by NDC to state otherwise. First they portrayed to the whole world that Nana ...

• Boye Chico 10 years ago

ass

• Boye Chico 10 years ago

vff

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

What is reckless about $19.5m as against $51m paid into an individual pocket for no job performance of anything whatsoever beneficial to the country.

Lets talk about the hugely criminally fixed over priced Mahama's Brazili ...

• OPK 10 years ago

DO YOU THINK GHANAIANS ARE STUPID AS YOU DO YOU GUYS WONTTO COVER THINGS UP NOTORIOUS WAYOME WAS PAID OVER FORTY MILLION DOLLARS FOR DOING NOTHING AND AIMOST 60O MILLION DOLLARS HAVE BEEN PAID ON UNECECCSARY SO CALL JUDGEMENT ...

A politician will put poliltician to jail whiles they`re on the same Boat (NDC-NPP)?Gold,Diamont.Oil..LOOK at yourself GHANA!.

• corrupt mahama juju killed mills,ei 10 years ago

WATERVILL,WOYOME,GYEEDA,OIL,USELESS MAHAMA MUST COME CLEAN AS JJ AND DOC ASEM FOFRO SAID,HIS IS AN NDC MAN,

• KWAME ACHI london,(KUMASI BREMANG 10 years ago

WHY SOME PEOPLE ARE STILL USING THIS WAY TO INSULTING OTHERS? LETS CHANGE THIS INSULTS WORDS AND BRING OUR IDEAS OR GOOD VIEWS TO DEVELOP OUR BELOVED COUNTRY GHANA.LETS REMEMBER,THE COLONIA DAYS ARE DEAD FOR GOOD.UNITY,RESPE ...

• Abba 10 years ago

NDC POPAGANDA MACHINE. THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF THOSE WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• Abba 10 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• nsem pii 10 years ago

Did we forget WOYOME was offered 51m free? These folks lay gutter game.

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Why all this blame game and gutter politics and get the same courts to deal with all these lot from the two USELESS parties.....................Just as they did with Aggudey and show some respect to OUR citizens.

Ghana has ...

• NOTOROUS PEOPLE'S PARTY(NPP) 10 years ago

THAT IS WHY? THIS MAN AKUFFO ADDO SAID ALL DIE BE DIE,TO WIN THE ELECT ION AT ALL COST JUST TO COVER UP THIS CRIMINAL ACT.GHAIANS HAS HAS NOW SEE THAT,TSATSU WAS ONLY USED AS A COVER UP.ITS NOW TIME FOR THOSE PEOPLE TO GET T ...

• Kee 10 years ago

THE PAYMENT OF THE DEBT DOESN'T MATTER, THE MOST IMPORTANT THING IS TO FIND OUT HOW THE DEBT WAS INCURRED. NDC THINK ABOUT THIS.

• COS 90 10 years ago

Nana Addo please come from UK trip, ghanaians need you to explain the rational behind the sale the drill ship. This is anther financial loss to the state and Nsawam is the solution like NPP did it to late Mr. victor salomey, ...

• Woman's Wisdom 10 years ago

Only a fool will say something like this. If Woyome, Tsikata, Mahama, Okudjeto and Betty Mould are breathing fresh air, you fool talk about Nana, the wisest and honored individual like Nana Addo this way? You are a big fool. ...

• BARBARIC NPP PARTY 10 years ago

Its so astonishing that we have illiterates in Ghana that still go behind this propaganda party so called npp. We all know about npp's state funds embezzlement and confiscation. Its a high time for that good for nothing idiot ...

It is your mother, father, your family, your entire fucking clan that are idiots and will end up in jail.

What have you achieved in your life with all this stupidity anyway?

kwasiaa boy!!

• D.D. Adams 10 years ago

Nana Addo can never be reckless if the initial judgment debt of $47b was deduced to $19 by K.T Hammond's intervention. Hon. James Agalga should extirpate the matter and not defoliate it instead

• Daavi 10 years ago

Tsatsu and his cronies should tell Ghanaians where the other ten vessels are. Thieves.

• DR VICTOR MICHAEL - USA 10 years ago

RESEARCH SHOWS THAT ELDERLY PEOPLE LIKE NANA ADDO ARE HIGHLY RISKED TO BE ELECTED/VOTED AS LEADERS. THIS IS OF THE FACT THAT THEY ARE PRONE TO HAVE DEMENTIA. Dementia is a common condition that affects about 800,000 to 8.5 mi ...

Some doctor. Thank God you are not in Ghana.

• GHANABI 10 years ago

Hei! Mr. Man, don't bring your fucking self here,ok? This is GHANA, our GHANA, so you better pack your sausages and hotdogs and leave us in peace. You must respect, ok. Swine. Go tell your Mama that she is prone to DEMENTIA, ...

• Kwame Asante, Ny 10 years ago

What kind of doctor are you? Is it medicine or philosophy? Do you know how old Reagan was before he became the president of the most powerful country in the world? Your argument is flawed and your constructions do not measure ...

• shaggy 10 years ago

It has come to our attention that the sale of GNPC vessel MV511 to settle the so called judgement debt incurred as a result of administrative and financial differences between the GNPC and Societe General is been turned into ...

• Jake 10 years ago

Has Ghana got an FIA?
    Makes you wonder how an AG who has never practiced in the UK choose to represent Ghana.

• Holy Father 10 years ago

AND what about woyome? stop yuor nonsense and talk of how to make DEVELOPMENTS like OTHER WORLD

• KOKI 10 years ago

The government through its Ministries must as a matter of expediency stop the blame game and cut a coat for the nation to put on against the dire economic cold! Are they going to spend all the time in the world blaming Aku ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

thanks to atuguba,you can spew nonesonce.

• KOFI - USA 10 years ago

WAHT WOYOME AND ALL THE JUDGMENT DEBT NDC HAD PAID SO FAR. WHAT DONT YOU TALK ABOUT THAT? BOTH NDC AND NPP ARE CORRUPT AND THE MAHAMA IS NO EXCEPTION WHEN HE IS TALKING ABOUT HOLDING THE TRUTH. AS A VICE PREZ. HE WAS IMPORTIN ...

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 10 years ago

IS ABSURD TO HEAR FROM SOME GOVERNMENT MINISTERS WHO DO NOT HAVE ANY KNOWLEDGE OR IDEA ABOUT FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS LIKE DERIVATIVES.
    THEIR COMMENTS SHOW HOW THE GOVERNMENT IS DESPERATE TO EQUALISE SOMETHING WHICH IS NOT THER ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• WEAKLION 10 years ago

I want to hear good news about how our leaders are trying to solve the weakest economy , Ghanaians are suffering thru out the country. It's time for the NDC President to come up with solution about the Poor economy it's taki ...

• ERIC 10 years ago

TRASH STORY AND SPINNED

• FREDERICK KOFI TAWIAH 10 years ago

stupid fool. have you forgot Bertthy Mould CP, Wayome. shameless people. think the way your president will solve the economic problem.

• ERIC 10 years ago

SEE NDC TALKING

• ERIC 10 years ago

NDC BEHAVING LIKE OPPOSITION PARTY

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

How much has the NDC cost us!

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

Prez Mahama will always be called a "FOOL" if he does not restrain his boys from misleading Ghanaians.

• SUGLO -JAPAN 10 years ago

Wow I think this is the start of the
    2016 election campaign strategy.If
    this is true lets talk about Woyome.
    The said ship was sold for a purpose
    but woyome recieved money bigger than
    that without any work done.Tsatu and ...

• Korsi Vivor 10 years ago

AKUFO-ADDO IS A CRIMINAL. PEOPLE CANNOT BELIEV THIS BUT THAT IA THE TRUTH.

• 11 YEARS OLD BOY 10 years ago

THIS IS WHY I KEEP CALLING MAHAMA A FOOL BECAUSE HE IS SIMPLY A FOOL WHO HAS EMPLOYED FOOLS TO GOVERN A STATE.. FOOLISH PEPENI ABOA

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Nana Akuffo-Addo has to explain why he withdrew solicitors acting for the Government of Ghana and then failed to turn up in court.

This case smacks of mismanagement and corruption. It is typical of the recklessness of Kufu ...

• GHANABI 10 years ago

We have had enough of this bullshitting of the NDC. What is this Okotoo president doing with himself.
    The SC Verdict was given in MAHAMAH's favor, so what is his problem. Now
    Ghanaians are watching. Carry am make
    we see. T ...

• DAGADOO,NY,USA, 10 years ago

Small price to pay for true democracy,don't you say? Lawlessness and confusion would have cost several times more!

These deputy ministers insults a lot.

• Vitus 10 years ago

It is now obvious that no reasonable Ghanaian will vote for Nana Akuffo Addo. Where is the money? Did they share the money? Is it possible he gets chop chop from Societe Generale? What sense does it make for backing out from ...