You are here: HomeNews2013 07 12Article 279295

Prostitution in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (49)

• Asantehene drug baron 10 years ago

Asante/Akyem men are pimps with no honor and will sell their wife's, sisters and daughters for the rite kind of money. What a shame.

• Kokoroko Kukurudu 10 years ago

No tribalism in sex lust.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Stop quoting European realities. Long long time ago, the African societies found a way out in poligamy to take care of free women. But we want to copy the European reality of one man one woman so who takes care of the the re ...

• VOLUNTOR CONTRIBUTOR 10 years ago

The gospel of SALVATION from Jesus Christ addresses all these issues.We do not have to stone a prostitute or a thieve, but help them to get out of it, if the person is willing to come of it, else leave them alone till they re ...

• Diamono 10 years ago

Is there a place like "Kwahu area in Ashanti"?
    Can somebody kindly educate me?

• Ghana 10 years ago

"People from the Gomoa area in Fanteland and the Kwahu area in Ashanti, are aware of Gomua Two Weeks and Kwahu Easter, respectively."

I parted company with Gertrude, the strange Ghanaian lady in 1988, when she relocated t ...

• Ghana 10 years ago

It is interesting reading but some of those facts are wrong. It might be intentional or lack of knowledge.

"People from the Gomoa area in Fanteland and the Kwahu area in Ashanti, are aware of Gomua Two Weeks and Kwahu E ...

• Kbps 10 years ago

The Asante mafia really engeagedc the kwahu poepld intoforcicifng theming to thr ayopipidenas
    P I

• Mohammed 10 years ago

Dummy
    "Prostitutes run the risk of suffering from diseases such as fistula, cervical cancer, STDs and STIs, contracting HIV/AIDS, unwanted pregnancies and sometimes, being physically assaulted. In Lagos, one of my Ghanaian t ...

• Rita 10 years ago

I agree that sex slaves should be removed from slavery and be educated, but first of all let's teach these young girls that sex slavery is a crime perpetrated by ignorance and greed and that they are the only victims. When a ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A salesman go out of town for business. After a couple of weeks he comes home and tells his wife about it. "Guess what dear, I earned 4000 dollars by selling 50 mattresses and 30 pairs of panties." The wife replies "Really, w ...

• awunabroni 10 years ago

UNCL KWESI ATTAH, YOU HAVE JUST TOUCHED THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG. I RECENTLY WENT TO KUMASI AND WAS WALKING TO MY HOTEL WHEN I FOUND THESE OBVIOUSLY NIGERIAN GIRLS IN ALL FORMS OF SEDUCTIVE DRESSES THAT MAY MAKE A WEAK MEN CHAN ...

Two hookers were standing on a street corner in Takoradi ready for a night of business.

"It's gonna be a good night tonight, I can tell" says one of the girls.

"How can you tell?" says the other.

"I can smell cock in ...

• Daniel botchway 10 years ago

Thank you very much Sir for this educative write up.

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 10 years ago

Yeah, we need to share our experiences to guide the young and others. Thank you for thanking me.

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

Yes. Thanks so much for this write up. Something has to be done about this social canker. But just as you stated earlier, this is the oldest trade in history of mankind and seems not to fade away but on the ascendancy. Even s ...

• jorge 10 years ago

i really like this piece of advise

• Kwame 10 years ago

A careful study of the history of human civilization will tell you that prostitution is not the oldest profession.
    In the primitive society there was no family, thus there was no wife and husband, thus children in that soci ...

Kwame, every book says Prostitution is the oldest occupation, perhaps starting from the Garden of Eden. Your thesis is interesting but plausible and of popular acclaim. Thanks for your copious rejoinder.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Mr. Kwesi Atta Sakyi, in the Bible it was said that Satan turned himself into a serpent and gave the fruit in the centre of the garden of Eden to Eve to eat. Eve in turn gave the fruit of knowledge, truth and sin to Adam to e ...

• Kojo Essuman 10 years ago

There is a distinction between a man HUNTING for food in the primitive society and a woman offering SEX to the public as a SERVICE to generate income.The fact that PROSTITUTION is a SERVICE to the public makes it more profess ...

A man can do anything for a beautiful woman for sex so sex is the oldest profession because in the beginning there no professionals as people simply gathered food as hunters and collectors. A hungry woman will offer sex to ge ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Kojo Essuman this is poverty in reasoning because you seem to be telling us that hunting does not generate income, thus the same goes with agriculture, thus the only thing that generate income is sex. Sex is a biological acti ...

• Kojo Essuman 10 years ago

Mind you,in the early days they hunted for food for personal consumption and not for SALE.

• kokonte 10 years ago

We at ghanaweb prefer to read articles about gays, because we can feel self-righteous about the fact that we don't like them. When you talk about prostitution it makes us feel uncomfortable because we don't want our own sin ...

• Wofa Mebro 10 years ago

Kudos my brother for the nice piece. I loved reading it and really learnt a lot of gargantuan words. the only bit I want to disagree is Kwahus being from Ashanti. Kwahus indeed are from the Eastern region. thanks

• Ghana 10 years ago

Wofa, he made some mistakes. What was the need to reveal that his 'girlfriend' was from Ashanti region 60 kilometers from Kumasi but will not reveal the village or town name? There is no town or village in Ashanti region tha ...

• Obroni 10 years ago

Compliments for your article, no real position taken, no insults just facts and views.

• Jerry 10 years ago

very deep and revealing. Kudos Sir!!!

I thank you all for your warm and kind words. Sometimes one can be wrong. Forgive me for some of those inaccuracies concerning Kwahu but I wrote it from my deep history of Ghana and where people come from.

• Mohammed 10 years ago

"Prostitutes run the risk of suffering from diseases such as fistula, cervical cancer, STDs and STIs, contracting HIV/AIDS, unwanted pregnancies and sometimes, being physically assaulted. In Lagos, one of my Ghanaian teacher ...

• Mohammed 10 years ago

Sorry Mr Sakyi, that message was meant for the guy calling himself Asantehene drug baron

Hi, Muhammed do not worry because a writer must be open to all sorts of feedback, good or bad. You mean well and I knew you did not mean me. Thanks.

• Kwame 10 years ago

We forget to add that societies that practice group and heterosexual sex do not have sexual transmitted diseases. Thus when the first Europeans arrived in America with sexual transmitted diseases and had sex with native Ameri ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

From our analysis it could be seen that even the performance of religious duties as a profession came before women or men came to do what they do biologically for cash or something in kind. Nursing and Cooking were profession ...

• Al Gashari 10 years ago

I think you wanted to say "nymphomaniac" which is defined by Webster Online as "excessive sexual desire by a female".

The word "homophiliac" doesn't exist but there is "hemophilia" or "haemophilia" which is defined as "an ...

• ASHANTI 10 years ago

I HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS, THE AKANS WHO BRAG A LOT ABOUT BEING HARDWORKING DERIVE THEIR LIVELIHOOD FROM THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS WHO ARE DEEPLY ENFULFED IN PROSTITUTION. I HAVE LITTLE RSPECT FOR THEM. I AM VINDICATED

• Yarney 10 years ago

"DEEPLY ENFULFED IN PROSTITUTION "

I have been saying for the longest that, most of these smelly trokosi skunks in the forum are illiterates.

ENFULFED, is it a trokosi word?

This illiterate did not read of the area ...

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

why to you envy ashantis? try to work hard and build your community and stop the envy

• De Prinz 10 years ago

It is true that prostitution is bad but it can never be completely eradicated bc of poverty. Many girls who are into the trade will turn a new leaf if given proper jobs. I also believe that poverty or hardship is not enough r ...

1. You have to keep pumping if you want to get anywhere.

2. It's best to wear protective head-gear when going into unfamiliar territory.

3. You can do it with no hands, but it's best not to try it until you have a lot o ...

• lizzie 10 years ago

akwasi you have suffered a lot in this world.from agege to the 4 corners of the world

• PROF. 10 years ago

IF SO,THEN PROSTITUTION WILL BE TREATED AS ALPHA AND OMEGA"S SOCIALISM.

• Kabobo 10 years ago

My attention has been drawn to the writer's point of view that Prostitution is the Oldest Profession.This is debatable,someone must please help.l dont think that Hunting is the Oldest profession as suggested by Kwame.Hunting ...

• ***** 10 years ago

i need to see this man face to face before posting my comments to his articles from now on!!!

a pic? thanx

• Frank Talk 10 years ago

Good piece, but that the magiority of Ghanaian prostitutes live in Italy is metropolitan fable. It is an insult to the large magiority of Ghanaian ladies who labour honestly don dailly basis. I don't think you know Italy like ...

• Sanjay Dixit 10 years ago

Date: 07/08/2013.

To:
    The Reader,
    Ghana Web

Mr. Sanjay R. Dixit,
    Mumbai - 400053,
    INDIA.
    sanjayrdixit@rediffmail.com

SUBJECT: The PHILOSPOHY OF ADVANCED CIVILIZATION (PAC) - Humans Planet Earth and ...

• ThompsonApedo 7 years ago

Patience ooo

• ThompsonApedo 7 years ago

GOD IS COMING SOON