UK £3,000 bond: Ghana MPs angry; Govt to respond appropriately

Read Comments Comments (172)

• POP 10 years ago

WELL DONE GOVT

• GHENE 10 years ago

IT WILL BENEFIT GHANA AT MOST

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

This policy by British government is discriminatory and the government should make sure it does not take roots in Ghana but the MP for Tarkwa's response is not the answer.

"MP for Tarkwa Nsuaem, Eugenia Kusi made the call ...

• OSBON 10 years ago

How can this be. Oh NDC. our president just met the British Prime Minister barely a week ago, they didn't even mention this policy to him.
    The problem as I see now is that. we can't do anything, about this other than the Gov ...

• RJ 10 years ago

HOW MUCH OF THE GOLD IN THE QUEEN SEVERAL PALACES WERE BOUGHT. MOST CAME FROM INDIA AND GHANA

GOVT SHOULD ASK THEIR VISITORS TO PAY SAME. EVEN THEY IN A MORE PROSPERUOS COUNTRY CANNOT AFFORD TO DO THAT- BLOODY IDIOTS

• Torgbigah 10 years ago

why leading to spar in diplomatic role? they make policy and we also make policy why spar in diplomacy? look, Ghana must never allow foreign countries to take us for ride, Ghana why? Ghana what kind of country are you? China ...

pepeni like all evil men in history is saying its God who gave him victory , Hitler , Stalin and all the intrinsically evil men including Satan also claimed the same. pepeni has put only his own Muslim pepefuo in charge of al ...

• Dangerous! Terrritory!!!! 10 years ago

Retaliate and see if UK loses if not your Akan bretheren - languishing visa violators in the UK!!

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

What moral justification have you Ghanaians got to criticize Britain for her £3000 Immigration rule, when you HATEFUL, WICKED AND XENOPHOBIC Ghanains, with your EVIL BUSIA ACO ORDER and your ALL DIE BE DIE mentalities impos ...

• ZARA 10 years ago

THE BEGGING BOWL WILL ONEDAY RECEIVE SHIT

• KKK 10 years ago

CHARGE THEM MORE FOR LANDING FEES

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 10 years ago

TIME FOR NATIONS LIKE GH TO START DEVELOPING THEIR NATIONS. NO MORE GFA FRIENDLIES IN ENGLAND. BUILD BETTER INFRASTRUCTURE AT HOME HOST FRIENDLIES IN GH...IDIOTS

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 10 years ago

YES GHANA MUST RETALIATE. IT IS ABOUT TIME WE STOP THEM FROM PUSHING US AROUND, HOWEVER, OUR LEADERS SHOULD STOP LOOTING THE TREASURY AND THINK ABOUT CREATING CONDITIONS FOR THE PRIVATE SECTOR TO CREATE EMPLOEMENT FOR THE PEO ...

THEY R UPSET BCOS NOW THEY CANT TRAVEL BY HEART TO THE UK N SPEND GH MONEY WAA WAA...U CANT INFLUENCE THE UK'S DECISION. PROTECT UR BORDERS

• ZARA 10 years ago

THE SHOULD TRY IT SEE THE OUTCOME OF UK ECONOMY

• Zegbete 10 years ago

When there was continental Cooling only few countries enjoyed it. Now they are talking about Global warming.
    Does Ghana really have to cooperative with directives to keep them safe?

One day, they would wish to live in Af ...

• Maame Grace 10 years ago

Kwasea what has Akan got to do with this issue. Atleast they are working unlike you lazy arsehole who depend on the government both back home and here in the UK and USA.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Mahama must be forced to resign because he and his NDC crooks has failed the people of this nation, the
    country and the souls of this nation.

All these are the fault of dishonest and a liar Mahama.

• OBIAAAAAAAAAAAA 10 years ago

CALAMITY

• Torgbigah 10 years ago

period, eye for eye and tooth for tooth period. impose 3 times of what they ask for, and never leave their embassy out,any of their embassy staff coming to Ghana must deposit even 15,000 euros what kind of animal law is that ...

• J H New York 10 years ago

Don't let your emotions carry you away,please.The lady MP didn't think far before she made her utterance.Retaliation will do us more harm than good because British visitor are mainly of tourist status who come to spend thei ...

• KOLA PROGRESSING FORWARD 10 years ago

You are an idiot. Your country is the one with hat in hand asking For help. They can afford to ignore Ghana.

• Kingsley 10 years ago

You're the idiot, how stupid can you be ? These western greedy bastards have demeanized we Africans for so many years and Ghana can now use its now found economic power to muscle these bastards to their knees. Mother Ghana ...

You are really a fool, what economic Power does Ghana have? A country that cannot pay Its workers or Help flood victims. A country that depends on foreign donors to sponsor its budget. A country whose economy is on standstil ...

• TT 10 years ago

Ofui, you rambling nonsense. Ghana's oil is insignificant.

• J H New York 10 years ago

Don't let your emotions carry you away,please.The lady MP didn't think far before she made her utterance.Retaliation will do us more harm than good because British visitor are mainly of tourist status who come to spend thei ...

• Tunde 10 years ago

If gayman controvesial president Mahama hadn't visited UK, this will not affect Ghana. Since the 2 gaymen Mahama n Amissah Arthur assumed the presidency, Ghana has plunged into darkness - bad luck!

• think again 10 years ago

MAHAMA retaliation could attract british support for Nana Akufful so Mahama should wait till the court case is over if Mahama realy want to complete his term

• Torgbigah-NDC MUST go 10 years ago

Forster closer ties,and this was discuss after mahama visit. did mahama overstay or does it mean this was the hardship mahama and ndc went to discuss with the silly UK government? oh, then mahama with his ndc is in serious tr ...

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

This tells u how ignorant some of these elected officials are.They talk without reasoning. Pathetic!!

• IBF 10 years ago

No I think you are still in the dark ages. So our masters have spoken everyone must shut up? The MPs are right we must respond with vengeance, we have had enough nonsense and insult from this idiots who do not want to mind th ...

• Moses 10 years ago

They come to steal gold and engage in paedophilia. They should be levied 10 times what they are disrespecfully demanding Ghanaians to pay.

• IBF 10 years ago

Cardinal, you are so wrong. How many British have you seen in Ghana? Most of them are doing business and exploiting our economy for their profit. I know some who have opened schools and other jobs in Ghana. Look, this is not ...

• Kwabena, Toronto 10 years ago

Cardinal: I must say that your view/contribution to the issue at stake is well thought out.

I particularly like how you quantify and compare visitors between the two nations.

I want to even stretch the quantification b ...

• Kondendiara Kakraba 10 years ago

This wouldn't have happened under Kufuor's government. They have no respect for Mahama.

• KWAKU NEW YORK 10 years ago

What has the government got to say about this? nothing. It's thier country and can do whatever they want. the buttom line is stay in your country.

• Concerned citizen 10 years ago

I advise that we equally asked all English citizens wanting to come to Ghana to pay twice what they are demanding from us. I blame the President and the Government for all this because of their corrupt attitude via creation, ...

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 10 years ago

an eye for an eye will plunge the whole world into darkness.who wins the fight between lion and goat?

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

Why are the MPs angry? It does not make sense.It their country and they are instituting a policy that if you want to enter my country deposit such an amount. If you do not agree then just do not go to their country. You can n ...

• Zodiac 10 years ago

It's about time developing economies isolated Britain. We need to choose our friends carefully. There r so many other economies we can partner with for the good of our economy. Firstly let all developing ecomies pull out of t ...

• SIMPLY RUTHLESS 10 years ago

If you want to travel then hurry up with your plans cos it is better to clean toilets abroad than to stay in a country where only the greedy bastards enjoy the nation's wealth therefore there is no need to stay back home and ...

• GHENE 10 years ago

THAT IS PERFECT IDEA

• Kwaku 10 years ago

It is just a nice way by the British telling us to stay home and build our nation.How long can we keep on traveling to their place?By the way if it had been Russia we say it is racism.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

How right you are, Kwaku!!!

• Gasco 10 years ago

It is a good idea, you went there to visit therefore, you need to return after the visit and your money will be given to you, so what is the complian? I have to advise the U.S to do the same.

• Gasco 10 years ago

Complain

• Joemens 10 years ago

Gasco the problem is affordability. How many if Ghanaians can afford such a huge amount

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

That is the idea- deter you from going to become a problem for them! Investigating and deportations is expensive and now they have found a way to defray that cost.Smart move!!
    Why should Ghanaians be angry?
    If you are genui ...

• Maame 10 years ago

I think part of the issue with this policy is that, the UK is only directing it at black/brown people and inherently racist!!!

If they are changing their immigration policies, it should be comprehensive for all visitors. I ...

• Justin 10 years ago

THIS IS A LESSON TO GHANA'S USELESS LEADERS WHO DO NOT SEE THE NEED TO DEVELOP GHANA WITH EVERY PESEWA REVENUE GENERATED BY THE GOVERNMENT.

IF GHANA WERE AS DEVELOPED AS THE UK, GHANAIANS WILL NEVER TRAVEL TO THE UK.

GH ...

• OLDMAN GYASI 10 years ago

The are acting as if their country is the best but which is not.The Ghana Gov should be bold and face them on equal ways and even charge them more than 3000pounds they are askng for to show our boldness.NO MORE "YESA MASA"as ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

let's say ghana retaliates and impose a similar demand on foreign nationals, good. so visitors to ghana pay their $3000 or whatever. after staying for the mandated period, they want to go back and so demand a refund.

alas ...

• adisco 10 years ago

We should negotiate a quiet reversal of this policy. Retaliation will not serve us.

• Altidore NT 10 years ago

They want us to legalize GAY marriage and since we didn't accept that,they want us to pay 3000pounds...KWAASSIIAA..DAVID CAMEROON or what ever his name is..YOU ARE MAD

• Dan 10 years ago

Timid government when the SA government deported Nigerian citizens and made visa issuing a problem for Nigerians their government reacted accordingly. Nothing was done by Ghana government. Our forefathers who fought for indep ...

• ed 10 years ago

if it's a good idea and you see nothing wrong with what the UK authorities are saying then there's nothing wrong for Ghana to do the same too. These white countries think they are smart, they come to Africa when they want to ...

• jojo 10 years ago

Step 1 Ghana,Nigeria and all African Countries should leave the commonwealth a relic of the old British Empire which to thisday serves to Enhance the prestige of Britain through out the world as a great power,secondly we must ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

ITS SOMETIME GOOD TO EXERCISE PATIENCE ON SOME MATTERS. I THINK THE GOVERNMENT MUST MEET THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT TO REMOVE THIS CLAUSE. BUT HOW MANY BRITISH CITIZENS HAVE 3,000 POUNDS SOLID CASH IN THEIR BANK ACCOUNT? LET ALON ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

what is this criteria for selecting this high risk, bombs or market fires.

• asem beba dabi 10 years ago

The number of poor Ghanaians trying to escape the hardship that the Currupt and lnsentIve ndc govt. has become alarming

• PRINCE 10 years ago

THEY WILL ALWAYS DICTATE TO YOU FOR YOUR STUPIDITY. HOW CAN AFRICA CONTINUE TO STOOP SO LOW TO THESE WHITES?

• Adama 10 years ago

My fellow Ghanaians, I will be very happy if all intending to visit the UK have a change of mind. They are not in any better position to help any body. Forget about their universities and look within Ghana. Every better thing ...

• gorge 10 years ago

I suggest we ask them to pay 20000 to enter Ghana

• Kofi K 10 years ago

When they have fleece us of non-refundable visa fees, not enough now this, what is the meaning of commonwealth now? Close the consular section let no Ghanaian all of us including the president be granted visa. Stop any britis ...

• Trouble 10 years ago

I think,on this issue,Ghana and Nigeria should join hands together with a joint response.Their Kingdom is falling and they are so desperate to protect what is left by any means.

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

The British are very, very deceptive; the have stolen our gold, bauxite, manpower and everything imaginable under the political ideology, "Commonwealth".
    Ghana is still Ghana; we are still strong. Let Ghana send all their d ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

This IS what you get when WE always go with a BEGGING BOWL/HAT in the hand!! A GOOD policy.Stay home and DEVELOP your country too !!!!!

• concerned citizen 10 years ago

This portrays the weakness of Uk. Upon all their so call strong measures ,they cant just get hold of illegal immigrants. That 3000 pounds is a day light robbing. Suppose one wants to visit her relation, must provide that amou ...

• James Okine 10 years ago

Uk's go't policy of deposit 3000 pounds as guarantee to return home after visit is punitive. It appears developing countries are always at the receiving end. Ghana gov't should just simply apply same conditions for visa to c ...

• Before & After 10 years ago

The average UK citizen does not have 500 pounds sterlings in their accounts. They even pay less that 200 Ghana cedis for Ghana visa. Those lunatics come to Ghana and pretend they have something good to offer Ghana. When they ...

• concerned citizen 10 years ago

What is so special about uk? Is it thier small roads, small houses? will also blame our leaders who go begging them.
    Lets increase ours to 6000 pounds down payment before they also enter. They behaving as though , they equa ...

• BREAD 10 years ago

Friends, unless your visit is very very important, don't bother. UK roads
    are full of potholes. Just a few weeks ago it was reported in their dailies that it will take about £14million pounds to fill all the over 2million ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

What is special about the UK is that Ghanaians go visit and refuse to return! And they ruled us in times past, that's what.

And it makes me laugh to tears when some people propose reciprocity. How? The UK doesn't need Ghan ...

• asem beba dabi 10 years ago

as much as i'm well pissed with the 3 grand issue i think your comment is on point.

• Gaddaffi. 10 years ago

See British people upon all the damage to Ghanaian s slave trade,economic hardship see our reward.Thank sir John.

• Earl Jones 10 years ago

Dark skinned countries are a soft target the world over. This is racism and the lack of respect for African countries. What an idea; chop off all dicks because a man raped.

• GHANA 10 years ago

No problem the Home Office have record of over stayers and many don't even bother to return till they get caught. This will make it easy for genuine visitors to get their visa quick.

• The Patriot 10 years ago

You couldn't have said it better. They are quite unlike us. With all the Ghanaian stupidity and foolish talk but nothing to show for, the British are being innovative, trying to find a genuine solution to a serious immigratio ...

• I Cry for Ghana 10 years ago

Ghana Government should cancel the impending visit to Ghana by Britsh Prime Minister, David Cameron because Ghanaians will not welcome him. India, Bangladesh, Nigeria and Ghana should threaten to withdraw from the Commonweal ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

This is an all indication that the Cameron led United Kingdom government have no respect to our democracy, guinea fowls government and more so to us as people and country. Period!

Ghana should react by first calling on all ...

• USA- 10 years ago

FOOLISH POLICY

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

Ghana should also develop and implement same kind of policy against counties whose citizens are likely to overstay their visa in Ghana.

• wendy, london 10 years ago

So you guys think mahama doesn't know anything about this? Before Ghanaians would realise, the country has been sold. Wise up people.

• PILL 10 years ago

WHAT DO YOU WANT IN UK.WHEN YOU HAVE YOUR OWN COUNTRY.BECAUSE OF SWEEPING AND PROSTITUTION YOU PEOPLE WANT TO GO TO UK.

• odeneho 10 years ago

After looting Ghana of our precious gold diamond and other resources listen to the the trash they are talking. What at all does UK has that Ghana does not have. I don't blame them i blame our stupid leaders who can't manage a ...

• Kofi Yeboah 10 years ago

Ghana government should retaliate and demand more than 3,000 pounds.I suggest 5,000 pounds.

• Meo 10 years ago

Ghanaians must bow down our heads in shame for Ghana being placed among high risk countries. This shows the level of bankruptcy in terms of morals, finacial mismanagement, low level of standards and gargantuan corruption whic ...

• Citizen 10 years ago

They are simply telling us to also stay in our country, period.

• Truth 10 years ago

I have to agree with the British on this. MY fellow brothers and sisters...there is NOTHING like being in your own country and living by your own laws. Life in Europe or the USA is not as glorified as in hollywood. Its a tu ...

• nkomo 10 years ago

The Uk government is racist!!! How dare them? It is about time we stuck up for our rights!! If they are demanding 3000 pounds from developing countries, then we should be demanding 6000 pounds from them as an advanced country ...

• nike 10 years ago

if you say british people to pay 3000 to come to ghana ask yrself how many white british come to ghana to settle or even visit ghana so it woont affect them ghanaian black britih citizebs will be the loosers

• Kokonte 10 years ago

The British come to Ghana to invest and open up businesses; Ghanaians go to the U.K. as economic refugees to drain the resources of the host country.

Ghana unfortunately cannot do anything about this, unless they want to f ...

• Dragon Slayer 10 years ago

Most visitors to ghana bring money to the country then return,it will be Ghanians loss of much needed oversea funds if the tourist trade was to stop. Most Ghanians visit the uk then get lost in the system contributing nothin ...

• Akwasi ( London) 10 years ago

At the very least the Ghanaian govt must protest against this discriminatory policy.Not many UK citizens have this amount of savings not to mention Ghanaians who want to visit the UK.
    Failing that our govt must impose reta ...

• Azonto beauty 10 years ago

What's the benefit to ghana as a commonwealth member

• Azonto beauty 10 years ago

Uk must return the ghana gold from the crown jewelll before this stupid police

• Nii 10 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD IMPOSE HIGHER INTEREST RATE ON THIS DEPOSIT AND TO BE PAY BY THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT

• Ransford 10 years ago

Ask for the same amount from the british and lets see how of them will have that money to pay as bonds. The only problem I foresee is that there many Ghanaians who have naturalised and may also have problems paying that same ...

• antobre kumnipa III 10 years ago

The uk government should increase the bond to £10000.00 minimum

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

The British Government has no clue as to how to deal with its immigration issues.From one government to another ,it had been a problem.
    Being a member of the Commonwealth of Nations is meaningless.

Britain has targetted G ...

• koleage 10 years ago

Those want to go to uk shd contact me
    All what you needs is turkey visa n I can get u crotian resident card to u.k by train.ticket from istanbul is just 109 euros by train.you can use the stupid 3000 bond money to buy SL300 ...

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

That`s good news.Use any means and every route possible to flood the country with black African immigrants.
    When they were colonising nations everywhere and looting their properties who stopped them?

• ILLITERATE SARPONG 10 years ago

well said brother, common wealth of nations should be abolished.it is a slavery institution.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

~I wonder why we are still in it. Even in that organisation, there is something called the old commonwealth and the new commonwealth. These guys can not live without profiling. sad

• ILLITERATE SARPONG 10 years ago

we must leave the commonwealth which has no significance or have any positive bearing on its members.

This is just another day time robbery.

WHERE DID YOU SCHOOLED? YOU LIVE IN A SHARK.

Kola's English

• sam(usa) 10 years ago

The brits need money to fix their economy and as usual where else can they get it than from the black man.All the affected nations should retaliate.Just for the sake of fairness.

• JASON 10 years ago

GHANA IS AFRAID TO EVEN OPEN THEIR MOUTH...AND SO PEOPLE WILLING TO STAY IN EUROPE..IT WILL COST U A PLANE TICKET + 3000 POUND..ATLEAST IT IS PROBABLY CHEAPER THAN PAYING FOR THOSE STUPID BOATS (WHICH AT THE END OF THE DAY..H ...

• Eunice B 10 years ago

I strongly feel Ghana should also institute similar policy suitable for Ghana. It is not "tit for tat" Nigeria matches the policy of Americans passing through (stop over)to still obtain Nigerian visa before landing even if yo ...

• Sammy Boy Holland 10 years ago

A president that was disgraced in UK, throwing eggs at HIM now calling him to intervain in the visa depositions. WHAT A BIG SHAME to those who did that in UK.

• RICHARD 10 years ago

ITS SEEMS THIS IS A JOKE FROM THE BRITISH GOVERMENT HOW MANY BRTISH NATIONAL HAVE 3000 POUNDS SAVINGS....TO DEPOSITE... OH AFRICA HOW LONG WOULD THESE COUNTRIES RESPECT OUR MORALS...

• Willie 10 years ago

The Govt have given most embassies the freedom to do what they want,you pay a visa fee but you don't get your money back when you are refused visa.the same at the embassy of Norway.If our embassies do the same to the citizens ...

• PEKI TUMU 10 years ago

The MPs of Ghana may be angry. This is a government that has decided to do something about VISA ABUSE and it is to make such abuses hurt. How many Ghanaians can come here and book into Hotels for Six Months? The condition is ...

• wakawaka 10 years ago

This is crazy the Theresah May is rude and desperate, afterall what is in UK? The place is shit now paying 3000 quid bond for visiting is a sick joke.

Brothers and sisters do u know how much u make for 90days interest of B ...

• 911 10 years ago

Go see dem ugly faces wey i get angry.If you retaliate the Brits im sure will create system that pays for their citizens to visit Ghana--can we create the same system fat NO,and when the Brits are returning can we find dem mo ...

• Genuine Visitor 10 years ago

You see no one trust the British, They say one thing and meant the other

• Donboli 10 years ago

£3,000 is a charge you pay in ghana uk embassy in ghana.
    If you have been given a visa to UK in Ghana why do you have to pay in UK. If the embassy in Ghana give you a visa means you welcome to UK. UK paliament itself dont u ...

• Daavi 10 years ago

Thieves, this is just absurd. All countries implicated should unite to stop this cancer. A very smart way to bled us to support the British economy.
    Let them refund all our stolen gold and others.

• nana addo 10 years ago

Gone are the days,the Gha government should stand for n impose same on British people.

• King 10 years ago

This policy is just soo unreasonable and in conflict and good conscience. I'm soo surprised.

• JAMES AKORTSU 10 years ago

£3000 bond. hahaha what will be the yield on the bond if held for four month?

• ko kyei 10 years ago

if you have 3000pounds as bond,why worry yourself to go to london for?

• Kofi - USA 10 years ago

THESE USELESS MPs CAN NOT DO A THING. THE FACT IS THAT IF YOU DONT HAVE THE MONEY DONT APPLY FOR A VISA. IT IS SAD BUT THAT IS THE FACT OF LIFE. IF OUR LEADERS HAVE MADE THINGS BETTER AT HOME MOST PEOPLE WILL NOT TRAVEL OUTSI ...

• CK 10 years ago

The 5 countries should impose similar requirements on the Brits and give them a deadline to cancel this policy or we leave the commonwealth.

• Ama 10 years ago

You cant blame them for trying to cut down on immigration..Well we have chosen to leave our borders open to anyone so who can blame them?

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I have said it many times here that, if we want to move from a developing country to a developed or advanced country the first thing we need to do is to take care of our borders.

We can't just leave our borders opened in t ...

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 10 years ago

let's stop biting more than what we can swallow,they are righr,i did the same thing and alot of colleagues.our record of over staying in their country is pretty poor,this game is too huge.any attempt to retaliate will adverse ...

• jb 10 years ago

Syrians are fighting for their country...Brazilians are fighting for their country...Ghana allow a sorry-ass half scot kid to seize the country in 1979 and the country has been on a downward spiral since.. The current corrupt ...

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

AFRICAN COUTRIES MUST CUT THEIR COLONIAL EMBIRICAL CORDS AND FORM ALLIANCES WITH CHINA AND OTHER EMEGING ECONOMIES, INDIA, BRAZIL, SOUTH KOREA, THAT WE CAN LEARN FROM.

BRITAIN AND BRITISH ARE NOTABLY STINGY HYPOCRITES, A ...

• Omanbapa Osei Oyeadieyie 10 years ago

To all those making noise : who do you think will lose most when Brits stop coming to Ghana? The Brits or we Ghanaians?

Have you dunderheads ever pondered over the millions generated from British tourists in Ghana? We may ...

• AGTAPORE (SANDEMA) 10 years ago

Now, they want to retaliate because visas connections are curtailed by this order.
    if you retaliate, you know how many Ghanaians will be affected ant the consequences will be what we seeing in Brazil.
    British embassy ...

• JiMY SOMER 10 years ago

EUROPEANS SHOULD TAKE VISA BEFORE COMING TO GHANA AND AFRICA.AFRICA MUSD CUT EVERY CONTACT WITH EUROPEANS AND LETS DO BUSINESS WITH BRICS,FORGET ABOUT EUROPEANS,THEY HAVE EVEN DECIDED TO NOT GIVE WORK TO AFRICAINS

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Ghana has one of the top 10 growing economies in the world and you worry about going to the uk? Ahhh, grow Ghana!

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Well what a fuss - it is a proposed law not due soon - the countries affected have not been agreed - overstaying permanently is what they are trying to avoid - and holiday visas are currently abused - as good Christians I can ...

• john 10 years ago

do you think government is not aware of it? Ghanaians, we are joking for many things happends underground and other pretend ignorant. Ede biii keke

• Enoch. O 10 years ago

This is getting ridiculous by the day. Already all the White so-called Democracies the richest by way of underhand dealings, take money from people from the Third World who make applications to their Embassies. Out of a hundr ...

• Kingsley 10 years ago

These imperialists have long had interest in Mother Ghana and we can also in kind kill their interest. Hit them back and give them the red face they deserve. Ban all British exports, imports and impose high levies and taxes o ...

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

What are you all talking about on this forum? mahama has just agreed and signed for this bond.NDC is seeking all help to remain in power so they will even sell the Nation to maintain their position.
    I tell you guys. The deal ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

The government of Britain current tools used in the ongoing crack down on illegal immigrant minute by minute weeds out any abuser of their visa system so this excuse that £3000 bond will do the trick is disingenuous and a ca ...

• Philip Kwesi Eshun 10 years ago

The proposed policy discriminate against Ghanaians and our leaders should to raise on united nation platform. This is undermine human right of ghanaians. The Human Rights vision of equality extends significantly beyond discri ...

• Damani Kariku Katun-Kunari theSecond. 10 years ago

The few Ghanaians in UK Demonstrators.
    "Could you remember my comment against your demonstration against your Government in a foreign country?
    Go back to your" COMENT TO ARTICLES FILE" if there's any, to gather my comment. ...

• London Whale 10 years ago

You are given 6 months and you stay for 10 years?

They are simply asking for security that you will return. And of course your money will be returned to you if you do not overstay. Fair to me.

• Okonkwo 10 years ago

I think 3000Pounds is a good call for any genuine visitor to pay .You getting your money back , so what is the point.Only over stayers are worried about their money locked up.

• Kanawu 10 years ago

Ghanaians in the UK should register to vote. Then this will raise their bargaining position. Negotiate wisely. Sanctions will deter tourists. It will affect the airlines. Who has more to lose?

• nana k 10 years ago

how could british government classify Ghana as a high risk country. that statement alone tarnish our image as Ghanaian and we all need to stand up against them to redraw that statement and take us out from that list of high r ...

• Toronto T 10 years ago

Now want are you going to do. Fix korlebu. Transform korlebu from a dead trap to a saving hospital. Every politicians goes to uk for medical check up. Are you fools. Ah why are Ghanaians mentally backward fix korlebu equip i ...

• john 10 years ago

what can the president do to reverse this, very soon usa will imply that too

• Toronto T 10 years ago

Now go and fake your way into a council flat. Go and collect fake insurance fees. Throw your husband away for free money. Uk should kick all Ghanaians out of there they add to nothing but take and take. Every trick on this pl ...

• Kwabena, Toronto 10 years ago

Cardinal: I must say that your view/contribution to the issue at stake is well thought out. I particularly like how you quantify and compare visitors between the two nations.

I want to even stretch the quantification by s ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Good point, but I would advise the government to keep its plans in its sleeves.

• kwadwo 10 years ago

well,they have made their country attractive to live in,so we should also make ours better and impose heavy fees on visitors coming into our country.it is their country

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

PEOPLE THINK THIS IS A FAIR POLICY. YES, I WILL LOVE GHANAIANS TO STAY AT HOME AND HELP BUILD OUR GREAT NATION. AGAIN, THEY CAN INCREASE IT TO 20000 POUNDS AND HOPE THAT STOPS PEOPLE GETTING CAUGHT UP IN THIS SPINNING MONEY B ...

• Private Mensah 10 years ago

They are angry because they also have to pay for visiting- they don't give a shit about the average Ghanaian

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

I don't think you know our MPs are paid over 5000 pounds a month and have their jobs to come back to. Think and stop making silly comments

• Daniel 10 years ago

They are right doing what is right for their country. i have visited various mines in South African countries and suprised at the low level of expartriate workers there. Come to Ghana , you have all types of workers in the mi ...

• tricia 10 years ago

We need to create job to absorb our people. But of course, people travel for various reasons, not only for economic reasons. What about parents who want to visit their children there, do they have to pay to put down 3000 poun ...

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

Nobody will ask the visitor to pay 3000 Pounds. The invitee (the one inviting the visitor) signs the bond that if the visitor does not return, the invitee MUST pay the amount.

The first time I visited Germany my invitee wa ...

• New Ekuma 10 years ago

What do I need from UK at all ? Cassava to pound fufu or dress to wear ? Do I need cars from Britain or job to fend for my family ? Nonsense

'high risk indeed' ! Absolute nonsense from rather a high risk TRUMUSEXUAL count ...

• kwaku Saah 10 years ago

They cry and curse on any provocation. They lie to authorities to escape their own country to pursuit happiness. They still live in their past of blaming slavery and colonization. Yet, they failed to develop their own country ...

• KUDZ 10 years ago

The government without question must retaliate even if trade will be negatively affected, the British government does not value Ghana, the peoples of Ghana can't let this stand, if nathing is done trust me other countries wil ...

I APPLAUD THIS UK INITIATIVE. THEY R DOING THIS TO PROTECT THEIR INTEREST, PURE N SIMPLE. THIS HAS NOTHING AGAINST GH OR ANY NATION THAT HAS VISITORS GOING TO THE UK. ITS A PROVEN FACT THAT MOST VISITORS WHO TROOP TO THE UK E ...

• SAm Sam 10 years ago

The reason is simple because they see us as criminals who can steal them because we still presidency. SO pay that money if you wast money in court and want to come I will use my mind and collect you. Knowledge

MBOA, GHFUO, NAIJA FUO, INDIANFUO, CHINESE ALL GO TO UK AL VISITORS N END UP STAYING N RAPING THE COUNTRY. MORE 419, SAKAWA, FRAUD....SO DONT BLAME THE BRITS. THEY R TIRED. I WENT THERE ONCE IN 2008. MOST UK PPL ARE TOO PETTY

• SAm Sam 10 years ago

pay that money if you will allow Chinese and come to dig all your golds and you will not a Ghanaian to dig it. Look at how AMA is doing, the police to taxi drivers. THey see us as good for nothing why do u want to go and clea ...

• Enock. k don holy 10 years ago

Nonsense but they want to travel to our cities and do whatever business they want,,,who has dat money to deposit after huge sum of money to one will spend.ghana shd wake up and begin to put grfat investment task on foreigners ...

• Nii 10 years ago

The British can do what they want. We should focus on ourselves more. How much will it cost for us to look to ourselves?

• Zegbete 10 years ago

It is time Ghana make a serious documentary about the slave trade to shame Britain and seek compensation.

• Kweku in Sierra Leone 10 years ago

This is a way of generating income for the government. Just do same if Ghana needs money too! I know we do!
    just wait for the Nigerian response. u will know it

• Osikani Kofi 10 years ago

What is the NDC government waiting for? Just ask the British visitors to deposit Ghc10,000 (The Thousand Ghana Cedis) and stop making the unnecessary noice. Period

• ABA 10 years ago

money refunds in Ghana? sure most PCs will breakdown just for them to frustrate people and steal their money. (bad policy) those travelling on visit visas should stop applying for a year (nov 13-nov 14) and let the brits calc ...

• Rose S Bonsu NY 10 years ago

I do not blame the United Kingdom asking for three thousand pounds bond in advance before granting a common holiday visa to see the different site of the world after working for may be two to four years. All is because of the ...