You are here: HomeNews2013 03 31Article 269520

Has Kenyan Supreme Court Beaten Ghana’s Supreme Court?

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Richard 11 years ago

"The Ghanaian presidential election took place on December 7 and 8, 2013 and the results declared on 9 December 2013."

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

The Supreme Court of Ghana hardly hear cases so this case has turned out to be a feast for the HUNGRY LIONS.

Every minute, hour that passes by the hungry lions in the Supreme Court milk Ghana dry.Imagine the cost at the en ...

• basoah george 11 years ago

You're totaly right "HUNGRY LIONS"

• Joe 11 years ago

I will not praise Kofi Ata on this biased article. After the victory of Mahama, Kofi seem to up the Akan agenda of innuendo attacking the judicial system.
    Is Kofi saying he doesn't know the motive of the petitioners in Ghan ...

• DKB 11 years ago

Where did he say that Mahama is not the legitimate elected president in his article? You see when you know you are guilty or have a sense of guilt, everything you hear would sound like accusation to you. It's like indulging i ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

Why heap praises on the Keyan Supreme Court for quickly taking a decision on Raila Odinga's presidential petition?Their constitution sets out clearly the maximum days within which a decision on a presidential petition should ...

• DKB 11 years ago

So should we wait till there is violence before we address the issue around the length of time it takes for presidential electoral disputes to be resolved? Does it not make sense to learn from the Kenyan election violence and ...

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

Did the Kenyan loser command his followers to demonstrate foolishly? Did he command his followers to hold press conferences while his petition was in court? Cocaine barons and national looting brigade THINK before you compare ...

• Sunkwa 11 years ago

The justices are anxiously waiting for their daily diet packaged in large brown envelopes---their services are for the highest bidder.

• Papa Patapa Owusu 11 years ago

Kenya had a dose of the election ineptitude with associated violence hence the speedy judicious expediency of the case.

This was to avert the second violence.
    Ghanaian politicians have very loose tongue and often incite a ...

• shamu 11 years ago

Is just simple. Those judges appointed by Kuffour the corrupt president Ghana has ever got, are the ones delaying the verdict. Everything is already clear that, NPP lose the election, but yet still waiting for evidence. Is th ...

• GHANA-BOY 11 years ago

ARE YOU SURE KUFFOUR IS THE MOST CORRUPT PRESIDENT WE HAVE EVER HAD> THINK AGAIN. YOU MAY PERHAPS BE BLIND. GOD SHOULD FORGIVE YOU, MY BROTHER.

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

Don't you know Kufour's 'christian name' is CORRUPT & GREEDY THIEF?

• Ketaboy 11 years ago

Good points. But did NPP not boycott the Constitutional Assembly? Perhaps they could have remedied this flaw? They are still boycotting events and activities. This is poetic justice. The chickens have come home to roost. Did ...

• TOGBE GANYO. 11 years ago

WHAT ARE THE GNAAIANS WAITING FOR. THE ELECTION IS OVER, THE WINNER IS RULING THE COUNTRY. DOES AKUFFO ADDO THINK HE IS THE WINNER?? STUPID DUMB HEAD. ITS OVER HE SHOULD GO BACK TO HIS IDIOTNESS.

• Flash 11 years ago

Why do you allways open your stinking mouth to insult. You are a big fool and an idiot.

• basoah george 11 years ago

Running in the filth to chase out pigs

• A.K J 11 years ago

They cannot declare anybody to rule for ruling sake. Who won the elections is what we are looking for and not who was declared. Fool. Serious fool.

• Massa 11 years ago

Kufour is never Ghana,s corrupt president ever. Chairman Rawlings was the longest serving president, and he,s undoubtedly one of the most corrupt presidents Ghana has ever had.
    Needless to say, he was the same person who st ...

• KofiKofi 11 years ago

Well, well. The SC has a very easy case. How could EC have rigged the December elections by not signing pink slips? What did the EC falsify by not signing some pink slips. Is NPP saying one man can nullify the results of a w ...

• banana 11 years ago

the answer to your headlined question is straightforward yes...why is the delay?...the ghana judges are using the case to 'eat" and "chop", that's all...the case should not have lasted more than a week...the longer they procr ...

• Kofi Kwegyir 11 years ago

Another area that any constitutional review should cover is the nature of the "majority required for elctoral victory." Bear in mind that the "Danquah-Busia" Regions (Ashanti-Eastern regions) constitute a "permanent majority" ...

• Agyeman. 11 years ago

Thats a good point my compatriot.The achilles heel of Gh is this self defeating belief in things that favors one's interests.The electoral hegemony of one region and the absurdity of lacking a clause for a timeframe in electo ...

• Massa 11 years ago

I solely blame all Ghana,s underdevelopment on its constitution. The constitution as it stands now seems to satisfy one person,s interest, the military dictator who took us on the journey to democracy. That was why it was ca ...

• Barima Ampem Osiahene--Toronto 11 years ago

Kofi Ata!This is an excellent write up.Bravo.Ghana Supreme Court Judges are cowards and corrupt.They need a shake up.God bless you Kofi.

• kofikofi 11 years ago

only a stupid person who calls his country a "moron nation" will waste his time to write this nonsense for the "morons" to read. kwasea, kwasea w'ate ! Aboa Kwahuni barima.

• Guy 11 years ago

Kofikofi you missed the point. Do you live on a different planet? You must try to engage in an intelligent discussion not such stupid insults. The Kenyan Constitution and Judiciary have addressed issues sensibly and expediti ...

• TRUTH PREFECT 11 years ago

THE GHANAIAN PETITIONERS FILED ON DEC 28TH SO THEY COULD WIN CHEAP PUBLICITY OVER THE NEW YEAR PERIOD. IF THEY WERE SO SURE OF THEMSELVES EVEN ON THE 9TH OF DEC, WHY DID THEY NEED THE 21 DAYS BEFORE FILING? THE PETITIONERS WE ...

• KONTA 11 years ago

Truth Perfect, please next time comment on the theme, instead of talking political based on party nonsense talk. When are you going to learn that Political parties are not there for the progress of the countries. We are talki ...

• Karl 11 years ago

Evidence is very important. If the case is not true they would have thrown it away long ago. Stay tone.

• Governor, Montreal 11 years ago

With reference to US, Ukrane and Kenya, Ghana is a joking nation.

• Yaa Nkosuo 11 years ago

Ever heard this saying, "They take no prisoners"? That's what it is. The Kenyans take no prisoners.
    Why, because they wouldn't hesitate to hit the road with placards and tones!!!!

• akos 11 years ago

these trumu trumu judges are dragging their asses!!!!!!!..its time ghana people take to the streets..cuz they are taking people for fools!!

• ELINAM 11 years ago

Even Obama said it in Accra that running elections every four years and follow no rule of law is nothing but a sham that, to guard against this sham, we need to build strong institutions.
    In today's Ghana, not a single insti ...

• OMAMA HU YE AHI 11 years ago

Mr Kofi Atta or who you call yourself much as I welcome your article on our constitutional flaws of hearing of fair judgement from the SC verdict on our election results. You welly stated ghana 4th republic constitution was d ...

• KONTA 11 years ago

Ghana's constitution need to be rewritten or amended as soon as possible. A rule of law without a strong constitution to defend it is chaotic.

• Joe ballack UK 11 years ago

Let's telecast election petition case

• EKOG, London, UK 11 years ago

The article above identified a major flaw in the 1992 Ghanaian Constitution as the lack of a specific time frame within which electoral disputes must be determined. As a result of this failing and in my opinion, the case of t ...

• Yao 11 years ago

Good piece!!! But will the relevant people read this?

• THE WHEELS OF JUSTICE GRIND SLOWLY 11 years ago

GHANAIANS SHOULD HAVE PATIENCE FOR THE JUSTICE SYSTEM TO TAKE ITS COURSE. REMEMBER THAT THE WHEELS OF JUSTICE IN GHANA GRIND SLOWLY, BUT SURELY. I AM SURE A DECISION WILL BE REACHED BY MID YEAR.

• Kolo Nelly 11 years ago

They will regrate it when more evidence are coming in. We are doing the right thing, period.

• Agyeman 11 years ago

No they didn't.If you followed the kenyan case the losers had all of Feb to scrutinize the voter register or sue to halt any process but never did.They only sued about a "flawed" registration after losing the election.If you' ...

• zinc 11 years ago

Ghana is a rotten country with its judiciary damn corrupt. SHAME!!!!!!!!!!!

• Faith M 11 years ago

The ghana elections were held on 7th and 8th of december 2012 and not 2013 as u published.

• okukuseku 11 years ago

The independence ot Ghana's supreme court was compromised seriously by succeeding governments and no wonder the fruits of indescretion has caught up with us in a rather bizzare and shameful manner.

• John Tamechogi 11 years ago

RAWLINGS IS THE MESSER OF GHANA CONSTITUTION. POSTERITY TS SEEEING HIS GREEDINESS.GOD SAFE MOTHER LAND!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

A lot amendment has to be made with that out of date constitution ...but bcos it serves some vested interest they do not want to touch it .

• AZZIZI THE WONDER WORKER 11 years ago

THERE ARE A SECTION OF GHANAIANS WHO ARE FATALLY WOUNDED. THE PETITIONERS OF THE CASE IN COURT AND THEIR SUPPORTERS ARE SEVERELY WOUNDED. ALL THEY DO IS TALK ILLOGICALLY AND INSULT. THEIR BASE IS NOW SO WEAK THEY CRITICISE AN ...

• DKB 11 years ago

The writer of this article is an NDC sympathiser but tries to be objective most times. Do you really understand his article? Your comment is worse than what you accuse the petitioners of.

• AKWETE POLICE 11 years ago

EI. ARE THERE PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY WHO STILL THINK THAT AKUFFO ADDO WON THE ELECTIONS? THEY ARE LIKE THE ISRAELITES SITTING ON THIER FLAT BUTTOCKS WAITING FOR THE MESSIAH TO COME. THE MESSIAH WAS IN THEIR MIDST AND THEY FA ...

• B. B. 11 years ago

YOU HAVE SAID ALL KOFI, BUT WILL THESE GANGSTERS TAKE YOUR ADVISE ??

• Sam Okudzeto 11 years ago

You people can only see problems when it is too late.

• Yeboah Sunyani 11 years ago

mr writer, you are intellectually dishonest for not looking at the numbers being disputed in each case. no wonder you are one of the npp paid affiliates. we are waiting for the npp to start anything stupid and we shall face t ...

• DKB 11 years ago

Hahahaha silly Yeboah. The writer is an NDC sympathiser but with a lot is sense unlike block headed NDC apologists like you. His article is beyond your level of intelligence so I don't expect you to understand it.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Yes, I got the year wrong 2013 instead of 2012, too far ahead of time. Sorry about that.

• Future Judge 11 years ago

As well Kofi, don't blame Rawlings for any flaws you perceive make constitution worthless because he Flt Lt Rawlings didn't take part in the drafting of the constitution. The constituent assembly that drafted the constitution ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Future Judge, I did not blame Rawlings for the weakness in the constitution. I said, it was so drafted to secure his continuous rule. Remember, most of the assembly members were government appointees and were answerable to Ra ...

• Francis C. Quainoo 11 years ago

Kofi Ata, for all that you have just written, I am very glad that you rightly made a suggestion for our Constitution to be amended.

However, didn't the former President ATTA MYTHS appoint this Raymond Atubuga(SP) who now h ...

• Future Judge 11 years ago

As well Kofi, don't blame Rawlings for any flaws you perceive make constitution worthless because he, Flt Lt Rawlings, didn't take part in the drafting of the constitution. The constituent assembly that drafted the constituti ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

The classic way of challeging a declared electoral results quickly is to simply ask for a recount but not to file a petition to overturn the declared results.In the US,the challenge was based on a recount;Kenya also used the ...

• Joe 11 years ago

The NPP knew that a recount would not give them victory. They considered all possible scenarios and came to the ridiculous decision that only disenfranchising 5 million voters from their opponents strong holds can guarantee t ...

• Asem U.S.A. 11 years ago

This show that the Judges are simply entertain FEARS that NNP Ashanti supporters will attack and kill them.

• CALAMITY MILLS 11 years ago

Which group has ever killed judges in Ghana-PNDC/NDC or NPP?

Your chairman Kwabena Agyei says there are many ways of killing a "judge".

• Nana Akwah 11 years ago

By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.
    There couldn't have been any better article than this. T ...

• AAD 11 years ago

Yes, Kenya has absoluteltly, positively beaten Ghana to this one. Their Justices get it.

• Simon, Germany 11 years ago

i always wanted to know. But now I understand.

• Mahoney 11 years ago

It took the NPP three weeks to assemble their facts, the EC and the first respondent responded, then joined by the NDC. The petitioners somehow came back requesting for the Supreme Court to grant them access to what is absurd ...

• DKB 11 years ago

As usual, objectivity goes out the window when your political lens are worn. The writer of this article (Kofi ata) although sympathetic to the NDC is one of the most objective amongst all the lot. Read and learn from him and ...

• CDKA 11 years ago

Well done Kofi Atta. Ghana needs such opened and transparent minded persons like you to enlightened those who are politically entrenched and are not ready to be learn.

• Iwan 11 years ago

Yes, by 100-0. Now that they know how to handle this case by Kenyan example they should spare us the delays.

• Adama d'Gharty, 11 years ago

Definitely no comparision to Kenya's Supreme Court as has just been proven to us all. Ghana's Supreme Court officials have a shameful habit of undully dragging cases in order to frustrate, demoralise and dampen the spirit of ...

• Ekow 11 years ago

Oh my mother Ghana,where do we go from here?Big shame onto our Supreme Court justice.Even lawyers to sit on this case was a problem.Ghana.......

• Jokoto 11 years ago

Ghana is not kenyan and that explains how/why two people have already been killed. And you blame framers of contitution .... did your NPP people take part. That is the price you are paying. No hurry in life Ghana is on course ...

• 7B 11 years ago

best article... GOD BLESS GHANA

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

Initially, Jake Otanka claimed there were irregularities and fraud in 10 constituencies which could push the election to a round off.

It is when that failed that NPP said they found something in 11,916 polling stations. Wh ...

• A.K J 11 years ago

So the supreme court wants to tell me that it does not know who is lying? How can Ghana go on like this? I am afraid a country cannot go on without truth in it. This is three to five days issue to judge. Why don't you tell Ak ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

All those power hungry politician who want to use the court to usurp power are going to fall flat like Odinga. Kudos to the Kenyan Supreme court for upholding the will of the people

• Marto 11 years ago

You have no idea of what you're talking about.Please understand democracy first before than accusing the great Raila Amollo Odinga of ascending to power by courts. I'am a Kenyan and the truth of the matter is ;there was limit ...

• DKB 11 years ago

If we Africans want the electoral process to work for us, we need to work hard to remove as many obstacles and problems with IT systems and the whole process. If we fail t do this, we will have our selfs to blame if the elect ...

• Agyeman 11 years ago

Haha,so its sham yet you wanted to win sham elections?Are you better expert than all those legal minds?You lament "limited time" yet its written into the constitution you and Rayila approved.Why did they not protest within th ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

Now NPP should understand that evidence do not mean they are credible.Kenya lessons must get into Nana Addo's head that the EC is the boss when it comes to electoral matters.I am 100% sure that our SC will soon throw away all ...

• YawNana 11 years ago

SC has easy case. How could EC have rigged the December elections by not signing pink slips? What did the EC falsify by not signing some pink slips. Is NPP saying one man can nullify the results of a whole polling station by ...

• NanaAddo 11 years ago

Your first two paragraphs was beautiful n then this writer switched badly.you lack merit,will give u 48 percent out of 100 .the petitioners npp caused delays,the NDC has also facts n circumstances.infact npp even inthe begini ...

• DKB 11 years ago

That is the reason why you made your stupid comment because you did not read the whole article. Surprising how ignorant people like you can boldly display your ignorance without even knowing and yet conclude the article is no ...

• Agyeman. 11 years ago

Nice one there 100% fully support you.Such are the failures in life bcos they only want to see that which suits their prejudice.In other words such are the fools who want their water to only boil at 3degrees even when scienti ...

• Luck 11 years ago

Kenya's was relatively easier in the light of their bitter experience in the last elections.This SC bearing what happened at the back of their mind had tried to both override the tension and also save land the process.Now tha ...

• Luck 11 years ago

This is the summary of the Kenyan judgment.On the basis of these findings I suspect the ending of the Ghana SC will even be quicker than we think.

1. After extensive deliberations, we are happy to announce the Supreme Cour ...

• Nyansa 11 years ago

Why blame the Supreme Court and not the petitioners. First they sought to challenge the composition of the Judges, they withdrew that, and reviewed the number of polling stations they were challenging from 4,000 to over 11,00 ...

• GOMNA RAHWEI 11 years ago

Why Ghana judges.