You are here: HomeNews2013 02 28Article 266297

Demands in electioneering periods increase Gov’t deficit – PV Obeng

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Segoe 11 years ago

No excuse here. You bought laptops, cars and house for Afari Djan to rig the elections for you. You gave Wayomi and your NDC fools money to buy votes. You all should start to account for your deeds

• BRENYAH 11 years ago

This gentleman is past his "sell-by date", what in the world is he still doing advising another head of state

• SHAMO 11 years ago

THIS OLD CARGO STILL DECIEVING GHANAIANS! HAHAHAHA NDC TAKING AND STRAIGHT TO HIPIC

• AGYAAKU 11 years ago

Whatever strategy NDC adopted to prevent NPP to win the election was worth the cost. How could they have come back knowing very well what that party under Kufuor did in their eight year misrule.

Ghanaians surely have not f ...

• PK 11 years ago

Our resources have been wasted and you're justifying this on preventing the NPP to come to power. I'm no NPP supporter but I can tell you that from where I sit the NPP performed far better than the Mills-Mahama administration ...

• BLACKMAN PROBLEM 11 years ago

So! Agyaaku you should know two WRONGS does not make a RIGHT if in the past things went wrong and is happening presently Ghanaians should keep mute and does not held our leaders accountable Is it you and the likes are blind o ...

• OBENG RAGO 11 years ago

Some of the reasons for the current budget deficit being discussed under the machiavellian NDc octogenarian leaders like PV Obeng, JLS Abbey and 'Cretuo' include comments by OBENG RAGO published onJanuary 13, 2013 thus___!

• BABA MORO 11 years ago

HAAHA listen to that fuckertive,I am sure he just came out from the hotel with that 17 year old gal,before making this statement.ODJWAN NUA!

• BONSO 11 years ago

Listen to what the Presidential Advisor of President John Mahama is saying. Paul Victor Obeng was the Chairman of National Development Commission in Mills Government. A Former NDC Government Member under Rawlings - altoge ...

• Asem Pee 11 years ago

Well said bro' how can you have election and have or increase the nations debt.We Ghanaman! are fools to hear these scrap from PV OBENG,shame unto you PV OBENG.

• Nana 11 years ago

Our fault is to continue voting such lazy, selfish, cruel, thoughtless, insensitive and ignorant people as leaders whther NPP or NDC. So much debt and nothing to show for it. The same story for 20 years. If you build railways ...

• Nana Akomea 11 years ago

Mahama is incompetent, period. He increased his expenditures to bribe voters. That is what you are saying.

• ABU OKYEMAN .KYEBI 11 years ago

THANKS FOR YOUR COMMENTS ,.THIS IDIOT CANT THINK MAHAMA USED ALL THE MONEY ON BRIBING TO WIN THE ELECTION ,.FOOLISH NDC HAS TO PAY THE PRICE ,IDIOTS .

• BLACKMAN PROBLEM 11 years ago

P.V. you have been in gov't for quite a long time and you know what should have been done to curtail these inevitable situations in election From day one you start addressing problems that's hurting the ordinary people not w ...

• kobbydoe 11 years ago

God will see us through

• yaw 11 years ago

Why do Ghanaians always say God God,God will never stop you from doing good or harm to your fellow being.

• KOO 11 years ago

This just a flimsy excuse from PV.It was NDC and government itself that came up with a plan to influence the voting populace with namely,car,computers and cash.How can PV come up with this excuse?.

• RIGHTMAN 11 years ago

P V Obeng, the real problem is the campaign funds of the government in power so dont blame civil or public servants. NDC spent too much tax payers money in the 2012 elections, hence the bloated budget deficit.

• Kpakpo Allotey 11 years ago

I have much respect for PV but this will not wash. A gov't that has been in power before and ruling for 4 years only plan to buy the election so what is my respected PV saying. When you plan to buy election, the deficits too ...

• GROW UP PV 11 years ago

IN KATANGA ???

• Joe ballack England 11 years ago

Odisika abrantie

• Observer 11 years ago

PV of 1972, we all know that governments in power tend to waste the country's resources during electioneering years; the question to answer is this: "What can/must we do to check such extravagance? Or do you propose because t ...

• wadi awie 11 years ago

free laptops

• C.O.D 11 years ago

Sikadicious PV thinks Ghanaians are just fools and blind except himself and his NDC cohorts. For one, how much was the total cost of the Toyota Land Cruisers given to the useless National House Of Chiefs? You did what you did ...

• Sunkwa 11 years ago

Another perennial thief--will go down in shame.

• Appletus 11 years ago

That is why a successful implementation of single spine slary structure will lay all these demands strikes to bed. If implemented and monitored well, it will up to employees, workers to show productivity to justify the implem ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

Mr. Greedy Old Crook, you will have done well to give us the brake downs within government institutions and areas which brought pressure on the government as result of the elections which added whopping GH8.7 billion Cedis to ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

P.V, even though there is some truth in this, it was the politicians who started this.
    Because our politics has not been issue based, the money factor has been the easiest way for politicians to get elected. Politicians shou ...

• ZIPLOC 11 years ago

If the NDC has not already made Ghana an HIPC nation, they are trying make us one.
    The sorry state of the nation is that we have nothing to show for.
    Mahama is now promising new air what?
    The man Mahama lacks vision to be ...

• THINKING CAP 11 years ago

LISTEN TO THE EVIL OLD DWARF. NO ONE SENSIBLE PERSON IN NDC. WHAT A SHIT IS THIS

• SHAKAMORA 11 years ago

another greedy bastards

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 11 years ago

ALAS, PV WHEN MAHAMA WAS DISTRIBUTING ALL THE FREEBIES TO THESE YOUNG GIRLS, CHIEFS AND HIS PARTY FOOT SOLDIERS WHERE WERE YOU. NOW WE HAVE ALL SEEN THE CONSEQUENCES ON THE ECONOMY.
    WELL, WE HAVE TO WAITE FOR THE SC BEFORE ...

• Onslopogas 11 years ago

Tell us something better!!!

• Nana Yaw 11 years ago

P.V.Obeng,has now assumed the responsibility of the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning.What a country we live in?

• KWEISON 11 years ago

This is no news

• Ghanabiya 11 years ago

You in government have not kept faith with the people of the promises you make to them at the time you are seeking their mandate.

They wait for you to come back to them at elections time and that is the time they also have ...

• Hazor 11 years ago

The independent candidate in parliament should rise a motion to develop bill that prohibit ruling party and other political party to use state or tax payers money meant for development to influence votes should be disqualify ...

• Nana Yaw 11 years ago

Retired Senior Citizens are creeping back into the country,s politics.The other day it wasDr.Charles Wereko-Brobby,then Kwame Pianim,now it is P.V.Obeng.FORWARD EVER,BACKWARD NEVER!

• OKPOLATSA 11 years ago

Its the gangantoan billboards, excessive campaign vehicles and bribing electorate all causes high deficit.

• Togbe 11 years ago

What is this old horse P.V.still doing at the Jubilee House?What advice can this greedy man give in this 21st century?Business-as-usual people?

• Agbeko 11 years ago

Could it be that times and things get difficult due to failure of policies and therefore people have to cry to government for relief? Interestingly, some keep getting richer and many are getting poorer. Haba, Africans why?

• Gotlieb Gbotsyo Agamah 11 years ago

PV Obeng be truthful for once and tell us the govt in power during election years steals the state money to bribe the electorate like giving 4 wheel drives to chiefs and Imams, distributing 50 cedis notes to the rally boys an ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

ARENT U ASHAMED?