You are here: HomeNews2013 02 11Article 264679

Ghana to keep Kwesi Appiah

Read Comments Comments (234)

• Ofosuhene 11 years ago

Why sponsoring him? Can't he invest in himself by going to coaching course? NONSENSE

• ABREWA NANA 11 years ago

In order for the coach to be confident and learn player rotation. He need to be train in Germany and learn mental toughness. Where no player is favored in his selection irrespective of their quality, financial status or age i ...

• Edwin 11 years ago

he lacks managemnt skills, fatherly attitude and d technical know-how

• TADI GIRL 11 years ago

NEVER WILL HE BE OUR TRAINER AGAIN

• PETER 11 years ago

THIS GUY NEED MANY YEARS TO BE ABLE TO TRAIN OUR BLACKSTAR

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

Five Nigerians make CAF Best XI
    February 11, 2013
    by Kazeem Busari

The Confederation of African Football has selected five members of the Super Eagles for the Best Eleven after Nigeria defeated Burkina Faso 1-0 on Sund ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

We do not have keep because he is one of own we have to keep him if we think and believe that he can move the team forward. Akwesi Appiah must break his pledge to Gyan, he promised him the captainship when Gyan put his playin ...

• VICE RESSIEN 11 years ago

this is what the rotten gfa said "The coach himself does not believe his team were as poor as being made in the public eye, saying after the Mali defeat that he believes "they performed very well.""

if the team was good... ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

NOTHING GOOD COMES UNDER NDC GOVT! NDC HAS RULED FOR 25YRS NO AFRICAN CUP!! USELESS AND BAD LUCK GOVT, NDC HAS SPOIL 25 OF THE 31 CUP HUNGRY YEARS!! YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT WORLD CUP? 4GET IT! EVEN THANKS TO NPP WHO SEND GHANA ...

• Forgy 11 years ago

Go back now to your little corner and ask your father when was the last time Ghana won African cup, and under whose rule, and which year, and which country host the tournament. Find out before you start writing something on t ...

• HUMBLE 11 years ago

shamo or whatever u call urself,u are a fool. starlet won the under 17 world cup in 1991 and 1995,the black sattelite won the fifa under 21 world cup in egypt in 2010 and it is the first time an african country won it,in 1992 ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

GOD SEF CAN COME DOWN AND OFFER THIS ADWEE COACH COACHING LESSONS, AND GH WILL STILL FAIL. AS LONG AS THESE 2 ADWEES NYANTAKYI N AA ARE IN CHARGE. I AM NO LONGER A GBSTAR SUPPORTER!. ITS OVER!

• poor ndc 11 years ago

humble or whatever,, you are the idiot! Do you know Ghana won Afcon in 1982 just 5 months of your pndc in office?, so you see, that team was prepared by Dr Liman the rest is history! those young cups are but for kids junior t ...

• NAADA 11 years ago

You do not even have a name to start with you silly idiot calling yourself POOR NDC. It was under the NDC that we won world medals and cups for crying out loud. In 1991 and 1995 we won the U-17 World Cups,in 1996 under NDC we ...

• One Love 11 years ago

So you revel in 'tainted' laurels? You're proud of using 35 year olds against 16 year old boys? Inasmuch as I don't like the politicization of the issue I'll say you are also wrong in boldly stating something that has an aste ...

• Skydancer 11 years ago

Shamo where do you get your statistics? I dont know how old are you, but let me remind you of Libya 1982 that was the last time we won Nations cup, by the way Appiah is rubbish absolutely.

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

WE WISH HE LEAVES THE ARENA but CAN GFA TAKE UP THIS WELCOME ASSIGNMENT, FOR,THEY ARE PART OF THE PROBLEM.THE TAXPAYERS MONEY IS BEING THROWN INTO FLAMES.WHY NOT ATTACHED KWASI TO COURSES IN MADAGASCAR,NIGER,GAMBIA OR ZAMBIA ...

• nana shortman 11 years ago

fuck u dont u know that it was Rawlings time that ghana black star won the african cup ? ndc time Dede captain the under 20 to win west afriac, africa, and the world uner 20 ? go back to school

• OBIBINI 11 years ago

Ashanti truant.Always tribalism and no sense of nationalism.When will ghanaians mature?

• NDC GAY GOVT 11 years ago

THESE FOOLS ARE MAKING NOISE YET THEIR STUPID TRIBE DONT EVEN KNOW HOW TO KICK A BALL! STUPID FOOLS VOTING GAY NDC AND YOU WANT TO WIN WITH ALL THESE BAD LUCKS?! NDC CAN RULE FOR 1000YRS GHANA CAN NEVER WIN AFCON! IN NDC'S 25 ...

• Terribly SpeCific 11 years ago

Appiah is from Brong Ahafo,he is a Ghanaian.You people talk too much.Shut up and let Appiah do his work.Even major teams lost trophies.Do u people think Ghana is superior when it comes to African soccer?Sorry!!!

• Busumbru 11 years ago

Which part of Brong Ahafo is he from please tell us because most fools think all Akans are Ashanti

• Jonees 11 years ago

Berekum

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

SACK HIM NOW.NYANTAKYI AND APIAH GO AWAY

• maka 11 years ago

Look, if Ghanaians are hoping to qualify for the world cup…like they hoped to see the nations cup come to Ghana, then we must forget it with AA in charge! Don’t you all realize that an intelligent coach can read games and ...

• EFO 11 years ago

You are displaying your foolishness and hatred for the coach by insulting him. STUPID BOY!!!

all the way maka. you made the point. but it's difficult for ghanaians to accept the truth. appiahs selection was poor... filled with grudge... we will topple him.

maka, your selection was perfect. don't forget the guy, fr ...

• poor ndc 11 years ago

NDC tribalist fuck the craps up! Fools , So you fools think any akan name is ashanti! very soon you fools are going to say Stupid Kwabena adjei, Obed Asamoa, Akua Dasowaa, Akpeteshie Kobby Acheampong, Palm wine tapper Asiedu ...

• EFO 11 years ago

Don't be a NITWIT, you IDIOT to the highest level. Your evil thoughts will follow you to your early demise.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

GOOD TEAM, IT BEAT MY MIND WHY APIA LEFT THE AYEWS BEHIND, HE SHOULD HAVE TALK TO ESSIEN, QUINCY IS MORE EXPERIENCED, MUNTARI IS FAR BETTER EVEN AT HIS OLD FORM THAN ALMOST HALF OF APIA PLAYERS, OPARE IS BETTER IN DEFENCE, TH ...

• Peep 11 years ago

Current GFA IS NOT qualified either....one of our own? When we talking about winning they talking about one of our own?

• Rasheed.@Appiah must go! 11 years ago

No world cup for us.Mark my words!

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

Where have you been? I was expecting you to come and hit us hard after the tournament but you chose to stay in the quite. Anyway, Appiah came back empty handed as you proposed but I tell you what, we're keeping him to continu ...

• Rasheed.@Appiah must go! 11 years ago

My friend,don't forget I am a full Ghanaian with blood running through my veins and arteries.My heart aches when i see our people misbehaving.I did not want Nigeria to win the cup,because I know how boastful they are.POW,to ...

• KG 11 years ago

Keeping an obviously incompetent coach (irrespective of nationality) is a very bad idea if the GFA is interested in the world cup. The GFA stands a good chance of wrecking the team after all the good work done since 2006, and ...

• ready to bite 11 years ago

Can't you see nobody is interetd in your craps?! Why are you talking to yourself? See nobody is interested in your stupid news so get a life and go to your nigerian website where your types are discusing if you have any and s ...

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

Nigeria traders cry foul
    Business News of Monday, 11 February 2013
    Source: Daily Guide

The Nigeria Union of Traders Association Ghana (NUTAG) is unhappy with the closure of the shops of some of its members by officials o ...

• Alatani onion seller 11 years ago

Stupid oldman who is listening to you? Cant you see? hahahaha "Alatani" go on piss on Ghanaweb! just joke and lets laugh mr stupid jokker

• GHANANI 11 years ago

Then relocate now.Do you know Stephen Keshi was sacked as the coach of Togo and that he was also the coach of Mali?Like Stephen Keshi Akwasi Appiah needs time and the support of the nation to do what the nation expects from h ...

• YAW GYASI ANKOBEA 11 years ago

NOT NECESSARILY A WHITE COACH. THERE ARE COMPETENT PERSONS AROUND THE NATION TO DO A GOOD JOB.
    DESAILLY COMES TO MIND. THERE ARE MANY MORE WHO ARE TECHNICALLY AND TACTICALLY FIT FOR THE ASSIGNMENT

• Ekumfi Akyen -Obamaland 11 years ago

YOU WILL RELOCATE IF GH KEEP APPIAH? FUNNY!OKAY,APPIAH IS STILL THE NATIONAL SOCCER COACH
    SO,GO AHEAD AND RELOCATE,NOW!TADI GIRL.

• Boss 11 years ago

THE PROBLEM OF THE BLACK STARS IS NOT A BLACK OR WHITE COACH.THE BLACK STARS HAVE ALWAYS BEEN KNOCKED OUT DURING PENALTY SHORTS OR WHEN A GOAL IS NEEDED BADLY SINCE SENEGAL 92.AND UNTIL THIS PROBLEM IS RESOLVED,GHANA CAN NOT ...

WITH ALL THE NAMED QUALITIES AND OTHERS,WHY DO WE HAVE TO KEEP HIM? NO COURSES OR FURTHER TRAINING CAN EASILY CHANGE MORALE DEFFECTS,INCAPABILITIES AND LACK OF KNOW-HOW.SAVE KWASI APPIA FROM FURTHER DISGRACE THAT MAY PAINT GH ...

• YORKESHIRE 11 years ago

Yes that right why all that good players we have a coach to go to further coaching if he already qualified coach ,thats nonscence its corruption they thinking of how they will get their cuts. GFA will get their share in the ...

• KOFI KOFI 11 years ago

THIS BACKWARD KWASI APPIAH WITH BUSH HAIRCUT DOES NOT EVEN KNOW HOW TO STRATEGISE, MUCH LESS MANAGE A TEAM. KWASI NYANTEKYI IS AN EQUALLY INEPT, CLUESS, BACKWARD TYPICAL IDIOT WHO IS SHITTING ON ALL OF US. SOMETIMES, I AM ASH ...

• Abeiku - London 11 years ago

Very true ...

• payola 11 years ago

this is what Akwasi appiah should do if he wants to be a good coach not what GFA should do for Akwasi Appiah to be coach.

• Ismo 11 years ago

Chrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr GFA and Appiah

• Kotoua Selira 11 years ago

yOU DON'T KNOW THESE MAFIA PEOPLE:) BELIEVE IT OR NOT GHANA WILL FAIL BADLY IN THE WORLD CUP IF AKWESI APPIAH IS NOT GONE.

You mean a whole national team coach should sponsor himself?Do you understand what is meant by the word, sponsor,at all?
    Look,my friend stop talking rubbish okay.Your article does not make sense.

• tjboat 11 years ago

This is actually bull shit,
    and this is what have adamant about, right from the start of the afcon, Kwasi Appiah is not a good coach , he was good footballer don"t get me wrong, but ammmm he can"t manage and you see he alwa ...

• Joe 11 years ago

This is a good idea.They did not perform as we would have wished but sacking him is not the solution.Let us empower him to perform better next time.Also we need some of the experience players in the team before our next game.

• xkase 11 years ago

is it now that they are realising their stooge needs some training? i gues tax payers have so much to waste on these self centred management of our football. IT REALLY HURTS TO SEE WHAT IS TAKEN FROM U AT THE END OF EVERY MON ...

• Ben 11 years ago

In Ghana we do not have taxpayers. Our government borrows to sponsor everything. GNPC used borrowed money to sponsor the Black Stars. The themes is "so long we are all 'chopping', nobody complains".

• CHN 11 years ago

WHY SHOULD YOU KEEP A MAN WHO KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT COACHING?? WHY KEEP A LAWYER AS A SOCCER GFA PRESIDENT ??? ALL OF YOU GHANAIANS NEEDS MENTAL HELP. GOD HELP GHANA !!

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

A very wise,patriotic decision by the FA.A cursory look at the tournament reveals that african coaches performed better than their european conterparts and to cap it all a team coached by an african[congrats Stephen Keshi] wo ...

• Me 11 years ago

You see FIFA Blatter once said it was the foreign coaches that is destroying African football,
    I said it on the forum that A good administrator will not call for the sacking of the coach. Rome was not built in a day.
    Nige ...

• BABARABI 11 years ago

I AGREE THAT GFA MUST "EMPOWER OUR OWN" BUT IT SHOULD HAVE STARTED WITH SALAS TETTEH, WHO HAVE DONE SO WELL WITH THE YOUTH TEAM AND THE BLACK STARS BUT WAS NOT GIVEN A CHANCE LIKE THIS. I SMELL RAT IN THIS CASE. LET'S HOPE TH ...

• Jojo 11 years ago

Please tell me what qualities did we see that needs more training, playing a forward in defends while we had natural defenders on the bench, or the Ghanaian cultures that it doesn't matter your knowledge, still or competence, ...

• Adelaide 11 years ago

APPIAH IS NOT AS INTELLIGENT AS KESHI. KESHI HAS A WEALTH OF EXPERIENCE FROM PLAYING, MANAGING OR ACTING AS AN AGENT FOR TOP PLAYERS WITH NATURAL TALENT. HE ALSO PLAYED ABROAD IN A TOP TEAM IN BELGIUM. YOU CAN ASK ODARTEY LAM ...

• jyga 11 years ago

You're so stupid and have nothing to do. Stop wasting your time and find something to do. Did Keshi win the cup in his first year coaching the Super Eagles?

You do analysis like you have no head....

• Jojo 11 years ago

You for all the 8 yrs he served as assistant he didn't learn anything. These are some the reasons why I personally believe GH will not improve in anything. We run our government with favors instead of competence, we give job ...

• Forgy 11 years ago

Of course, you´re right here.

• KKK SOALA USA 11 years ago

All THE GFA AND ASHANTIS ARE MAFIAS THY ARE ALL NPP^S & ANTI GHANAINS

• who cares 11 years ago

i think your father should be the coach.domme klet

• Akosua Faibille 11 years ago

He is unfit for a coach of Black Stars. If those visionless GFA mafia decide to keep him, well-meaning Ghanaians should rise up an work against Kwesi Appiah to get him out. He should resign honourably if he knows what "honour ...

• john 11 years ago

From the GFA'sown pronouncement, they admit he is not up to speed, so why keep him. If they need to upgrade his skills, they should get us a new coach whilst he goes on his upgrading course. GFA should note that the Black Sta ...

• Dr Sark 11 years ago

When will the rebuilding of the team end? We went to Angola 2010 with the youngest team in our history yet got to the final losing to experience Egypt side. We said it was young team lacking experience fast forward to three y ...

• NANA KUFUOR 11 years ago

As for Kwesi Appiah, he is useless. Maybe too much of fufu has infested his brain. He has no tactical brain. His substitutions make me wonder. We have to do away with this 4-3-2-1 formation and get more strikers.

• Charles-Illford,Essex-UK 11 years ago

GFA SHOULD ALSO BAN THOSE WEIRD HAIRSTYLES WORN BY THE PLAYERS.THEY SHOULD BE THOUGHT TO REALIZE THAT THEY ARE ROLE MODELS LOOKED TO BY CHILDREN TO BEHAVE,DRESS AND APPEAR DECENTLY ON AND OFF THE FIELD.ALSO DECENCY HELPS TO R ...

• PEARL 11 years ago

SPAIN WON THE U20 WORLD CUP AND MOVED ON TO BEGIN DOMINATION OF THE WORLD AT THE SENIOR LEVEL. WHERE IS CORE OF OUR U20 TEAM? THE INTRUSION OF EGOS FROM GFA ADMINISTRATORS, PETTY JEALOUSIES, EXTORTIVE TENDENCIES, AND FAVOURI ...

• Mireku Kyle 11 years ago

Tgat is the more reason we should have put Silas Tetteh in charge of the black stars. He would have lifted that trophy in Angola so easily. Now see tax payers money go down the drains because we hired a dumb coach like akwesi ...

• YAW 11 years ago

APPIAH IS PAST IS PRIME.HE CAN´T LEARN

• DESTINY 11 years ago

Nothing against Appiah, but there results indicate he has not got what it takes.
    From the evidence I would go for Konadu and or Abedi. Abedi's Technique, and Konadu's Tactical Plan of playing tournaments. Why can't the peop ...

• Osei Kwame 11 years ago

THAT WOULD BE A GOOD COMBINATION

• maxwell asante 11 years ago

This is pure childish COMMUNISTIC reasoning. After GFA allowing this man to be assistant under previous Coaches over years and other training courses, it is time for him to go and fight for himself. When did Ghana football b ...

• caesar 11 years ago

The GFA must go together with the coach especially the president.

• DR KING 11 years ago

AKWASI APPIAH SHOULD STAY ON.ALL THE PLAYERS SHOULD BE TRAINED HOW TO SHOOT PENALTIES AND HOW TO TO SCORE GOALS AND THEY SHOULD BE RIGGED IN PHYSICAL EDUCATION.AKWASI APPIAH

• PREZZO 11 years ago

WE WILL FORGIVE THE PLAYERS BUT NOT THE VICE PRESIDENT WHO CARRIED THE E DE BE KEKE SLOGAN TO SOUTH AFRICA. I AM VERY HAPPY WE LOST BECAUSE OF THAT GOD FORSAKEN SLOGAN E DE BE KEKE.IT SHOWS WE ARE DOOMED WITH NDC. AMEN

• BB Brown 11 years ago

Ghana for that matter can not continue to pay the Black stars coach with the tax payer's money for such a poor performance.he has small technical brain for not to even hunt for Ghanaians stars abroad.It was a tournament of st ...

• GOD IS MY JUDGE HONESTNEST 11 years ago

Our technical team let us down b'cos they can't read games and make right changes.A national coach is now going on a coach course after a big tournament? Ghanaians wake up

IM AGAINST GH! WAT AN ABOMINATION!
    NYANTAKYI N APPIAH MUST LEAVE NOW OR BE ASSASSINATED. EMPOWER TONY BAFFOE FOR GFA HEAD, DESAILLY OR KONADU FOR COACH.
    U 2 IDIOTS HVE NOTHING MORE TO OFFER GH SOCCER, EXCEPT PAYOLA. AS LON ...

• Edwin 11 years ago

eeeii so does dat mean our coach is lacking some things,c he is too old for that.lol it is dose in in d early 30s dat need training, he doesnt have d ability to manage players,,we always spend soo much on them..all dat he sae ...

• ABONGOMAN 11 years ago

We are tired and fed up with this excuse. Everytime the Black Stars fail to deliver, we attribute it to inexperience and youthfulness. It happened in Angola, Equatorial Guinea /Gabon and now South Africa. This excuse to me is ...

• Yamus 11 years ago

GFA please find something else for AA to do but not to coach the BS. The BS can't wait for AA to complete his coaching course or gain his competency. We have world cup next year and judging from AA's performance, we may not q ...

At least we r getting somewhere and does that include the technical team as well ?... hopefully it's not just talk we do need him to and whatever u do don't pay anyone judgement debts with the sponsorship money ...in other w ...

• Khadafi 11 years ago

During and After Afcons in 2008 in Ghana we failed to win simply because the technical team are not up to the task. Instead of maintain the team with some few additions and subtractions in order to strengthen them, the techni ...

Hmmmmmmm ... ok

• Ern 11 years ago

Those calling for the head of the coach should know that the coach only plays a small part and the players are the ones who should be blamed. Look at Stephen Keshie who won the cup with Nigeria yesterday, but he took Togo and ...

...it seems you've forgotten it was the coach who selected the players.... players who were not black stars material.

• Ern 11 years ago

Vice, the coach selected the best of the players who were eligible to play for Ghana.
    Of course, he would have loved to give a call up to Messi and Van Persie, but unfortunately they are not eligible to play for GH!!

• Come again 11 years ago

Nigeria and Burkina didnt need Messi or Van Persie.All they needed were players who were ready to die for their country and a good technical brain to support and motivate them.Our players led by asamoah gyan are only interest ...

• Ern 11 years ago

Come again, my point is that everyone is trying to blame the coach but forgetting that we do not have the players to win tournaments.
    If you take Sir Alex Ferguson, and give him the exact same players in the black stars and ...

• ASEM WO HO 11 years ago

THE GUY HASN'T GOT IT. WITH HIS DEPT OF KNOWLEDGE IN COACHING, IF WE SHOULD MEET ANY OF THESE WORLD RATED COACHES, WE WOULD BE NOT ONLY WHITE WASHED BUT PAINTED ALSO.

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 11 years ago

I think he should go but if the GFA decides to give him another chance, so be it. In that case, it is correct to send him to Manchester to learn how to setup his team to play good attacking football without sacrificing your d ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

I blame GFA for promoting an inexperienced Kwesi Appiah to handle Black Stars.GFA should tell us on what technical grounds they offered Kwesi Appiah the job.Has Kwesi Appiah ever trained any team before?What makes him qualify ...

• George 11 years ago

GFA need to explain to Ghanaian people as to why a paid coach who has under performed, should be sponsored abroad for further studies. The position of the Black Stars coach should be an open field to any qualified person. A ...

• basoah george 11 years ago

Give him another chance to correct his mistakes

• BABA ABOABO 11 years ago

MAY ALLAH GUARD U TO PROMISE LAND COACH AKWASI APPIAH WE NEVER HAVE ANY CUP WITH ANY FOREIN COACH SO IS TIME 4GHANA ALSO TO TRAIN OUR LOCAL COACH IF FIRST TIME GHANA COACH CAN REACH SEMIFINAL INSHA ALLAH NEXT TIME HE WILL DEL ...

• BROASTED 11 years ago

LETS FACE IT FOR ME THE FA SHOULD HAVE KEPT THE SERBIAN COACHES AT LEAST STEVANOVIC BUT WE RUSH IN SENDING HIM AWAY WE SHOULD NOT BE SENTIMENTAL IN THIS ISSUE JUST BECAUSE HE IS OUR OWN LETS FACE THE FACT IS APPIAH REALLY A C ...

• Spiky 11 years ago

I wonder why Ghanaians born into freedom think like colonial apologists. Why blame Kwasi Appiah? For 31 years Black Stars have been coached by white coaches yet the country has not been able to win any big tournament apart fr ...

• Ern 11 years ago

Spot on!!!

• George 11 years ago

Stephen Kershi had a record, yes he took Togo to the world cup, he coached other top teams both local and international to succeed. what is AA's profile? Listen, we are all Ghanaians, and we want the best for our country. Le ...

• Ern 11 years ago

Come on George!! Football is not about records, it is about performance.
    OK, if it is about the coach, why did Zambia not make it out of the group stage? They have the EXACT SAME coach who won them the cup JUST LAST YEAR.

• GC/USA 11 years ago

MR. ERN,IF IT IS NOT ABOUT RECORDS WHY DO CLUBS AND NATIONAL TEAMS FIRE COACHES, JUST FOR FUN. I DO NOT THINK YOU FOLLOW WORLD SOCCER. PERFORMANCE HAS TO DUE WITH THE QUALITY OF THE COACH AND HIS TECHNICAL TEAM WHICH GHANA CU ...

• Ern 11 years ago

GC USA, please scroll up and read my original comment on the difference between club and country level coaching.

Also answer my question. If it is about the coach, then why did Mali not win the cup when they were coached b ...

• GC/USA 11 years ago

DO YOU REALIZE THAT MR. APPIAH HAD BEEN AN ASSISTANT BS COACH FOR MANY YEARS AND WHAT HAD HE LEARNED NOTHING BUT MADE LOTS OF MONEY. THERE IS NOTHING THIS GUY CAN TEACH THE BS. YOU JUST IMAGINE BS VS SPAIN WHAT TECHNICAL SKIL ...

• Ern 11 years ago

GC/USA, I also beg you to be open minded. For 31 years (since 1982) Ghana has been changing coaches here and there, but none of them have won anything. Are you saying that ALL of the coaches in 31 years have been poor. If so, ...

• GC/USA 11 years ago

THIS IS THE MOST STUPID DECISION FROM THE GFA. AS OSEI KOFI SAID NONE OF THEM HAD PLAYED PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL. WHY DO YOU CONTINUE TO KEEP A TEACHER WHO IS NOT UP TO THE STANDARD OF TEACHING, HIS CLASS FAILED THE TEST AND GF ...

• Odapagyan 11 years ago

Very stupid decision. Then kiss good bye to the World cup in Brazil. The bloak Kwesi Appiah is not a coach. Just look at the guy's body language. Zero managerial skills, no leadership traits. Aponkye paa. Look at the team pla ...

• GOD IS MY JUDGE HONESTNEST 11 years ago

Being an assist over the years,still Appiah can't read the game and make changes at the right time

• Firstname 11 years ago

Good decision

• before-before 11 years ago

Leave that man..... Just stupid idiot. who take ideas from bad friends

• Quophie 11 years ago

If this is true, it will be the most sensible decision to have come from the FA. Ghanaians are so sensitive about football that I believe they at times think with their hearts instead of their minds. A coach plays a tournamen ...

• YM 11 years ago

He must go. Even after ten years of exposure, he cant manage the black stars. He is technically bankrupt and a breeder of conflict in our blacke stars

• mike 11 years ago

kwasi appiah was a watch man in london so how on earth was he given this powerful job to black stars to coach if we qualify for the world cup i will be suprised we wont make it dasilly will be our next coach and kwesi appiah ...

Idiot!What has Akwasi Appiah done to you? Even if he was a watchman in London,he earned a decent living unlike you who is an armed robber.

• Agya Yaw Bantama 11 years ago

AKWASI HAS BROKEN A WORLD RECORD FOR GIVING A NATINAL TEAM AS HIS FIRST ASSIGNMENT AND REACHING SEMI's KUDOS

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

"..will continue his capacity-building process with more specialized coursess in England"
    It is time to go to South America for our football coach, Brazil, specifically, because Ghanaians tend to play like them.

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

They should have kept Milo the Serbian Coach after we lost to Mali for the Bronze.He would have rebuild the Team.
    Don't you see a double standard by the GFA authorities.
    If Milo is in America,He can sue the Ghana Football A ...

• cy bobo 11 years ago

STUPI FOOL GYEMEE KWASI NYANTAKYI WANTS TO END GHANA FOOT BALL. AA IS A WRONG MOVE, THE GUY HAS NO CLUE. IF HE COULDN'T LEARN A WHOLE 8 YEARS AS AN ASSISTANT COACH WHY WASTE MONEY FOR THIS STUPID FOOL TO GO LEARN ABROAD. I TH ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

I am using this medium to plead with government to refund my taxes to me if the money contributed to national development will not be put to good use.
    Our sweat is being mismanaged and I bet that if Ghana decides to keep the ...

• I agree 11 years ago

I will join you my brother.

• Rast Pony 11 years ago

this is certainly bullshit........ what the fuck is wrong with the GFA. you are going to use the tax payers money to train a coach for Ghana? is it a must that Kwesi Appiah should coach Ghana whether he knows his job or not. ...

• Yab Yab 11 years ago

Kudos to the GFA!

• Evans Yaokumah 11 years ago

I think kwesi should gain more experience by letting his start with the junior teams for some time before graduating to the senior team.To me Kwesi did not read the game well.Which of the players came in to change the tempo o ...

• JKA 11 years ago

He should be fired, if he is not fired Ghana will not qualified to the World cup and we will not qualify for next AFCON.

• ASEMPA 11 years ago

I AM EXCEEDDINGLY PLEASED WITH THIS PIECE OF NEWS AND CONGRATULATE THE GFA FOR THAT. APPIAH ROBBED SHOULDERS WITH THE FORMER FOREIGN COACHES OF GHANA, NOW NATIONAL COACHES FOR CONGO DRC AND ZAMBIA RESPECTIVELY, AND SURPASSED ...

• Ern 11 years ago

I am sure that before the competition the pope said "if Nigeria win the African Cup, I will resign!!"

• A.M. 11 years ago

The problem is not only the coach but the players as well. They added Asamoah Gyan as one of the players for the Africa best 11. Can anyone tell me on what basis. We don't have a team with mental toughness. All they think abo ...

• payola 11 years ago

So GFA, kyenkyenaa Akwasi must be our coach? for better or for worse? until he becomes good? What if by the time he becomes good the players have become bad? hahahaa
    We have good mature players at the moment so we need a sim ...

• Soccerbenz 11 years ago

The Coach must stay, we should be looking at escape goat any time we losing a game, lets do our home work well and prepare the Black Stars to qualifier for the World Cup 2014

• payola 11 years ago

ofui! what do you mean by a complex statement like "lets do our home work well"? Is that not what we are suggesting the technically inept coach goes away for a more qualified coach? I suggest sellas tetteh or whoever is prove ...

• ROCKET 11 years ago

Have you ever coached before you dog??

Listen to this idiotic payola guy too o!Every one taliking about Appiah so he think he should alo run his mouth. Nonsense!

• Whatever 11 years ago

Unless our football administrators didn't see the open tactical confusion at the back when we played Burkina and Mali, how can you retain such a coach who is responsible for that. Everybody saw how Agyemang Badu attempted to ...

• KOFI PEPRAH 11 years ago

I thought Ghana would build on South Africa 2010!. The whole world was talking about the Black Stars. Now we are thrashed 3-1 by Mali and we are keeping the same incompentent coach and hope to make it to Brazil? That is a big ...

• RON 11 years ago

KWASI NYANTAKYI MUST GO WITH K. APPIAH & ASAMOAH GYAN.

SACK THE DIVIDER OF OUR GREAT SQUAD

• JETMONEY 11 years ago

IT MAKE SENSE OF KEEPING HIM:::HE NEEDS TIME TO CORRECT HIS MISTAKES.....MAY BE ONE MORE CHANCE WILL BE OKAY FOR ANOTHER TEST

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah should just phase out some of his players.

• Koohia 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah needs to get his players to pass the ball and be patient instead of rushing and not finding each other. For this reason Appiah should go to Arsenal instead of Man City.

• Me 11 years ago

I will not support black stars again

• GHANANIBA 11 years ago

It's inconceivable that the Black Stars coaching job is now a training job for a local coach who has no past experience as a coach. Don't forget that when you perform and progress in a tournament you get more money. This is n ...

• boboflavor 11 years ago

as if all the time is on our side,a decorated donkey is still an ass,
    Appiah must leave immetiatelly, stupidity of this coach killed us, left us on shore of burkina bay, what a disgrace,

• Agyaaku 11 years ago

Pls GFA, keep the Coach. Allow him time to build his dream team. At least we're saving a lot of money by keeping him even if we don't win any trophies. The money saved could be used to build more schools and tar the roads in ...

• SPEEDY GONZALIS 11 years ago

ABEDI PELE IS WHAT GHANA NEEDS. The truth about coaching is that, at the highest level it is not just having knowledge about the game that matters. Coaching is a cognitively demanding task. A competent coach has to develop in ...

• PEARL 11 years ago

GREAT SUGGESTION BUT BAD FOR SOME FOLKS. ABEDI REMAINS THE BEST IN GHANA FOOTBALL BUT SHEER ENVY WOULD NOT ALLOW VESTED INTERESTS IN THE GFA FACE IT. EVEN HAVING HIS TWO CHILDREN IN THE NATIONAL TEAM GIVES FOLKS MIGRAINE. AL ...

• Papa Dey 11 years ago

This dosent make any sense.That means he is learning on the job while there are bunch of qualify guys out there.Did you see Nigeria coach Keshi,his team improved every game.K.A is not a coach and will not succeed no matter ho ...

• Edem/usa.ghana 11 years ago

DISSOLVE GFA

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

Right choice by GFA.

• Edna Mensah 11 years ago

If God gave Adam second chance, then, let Ghana give Mr. Kwesi Appiah second chance. long live Ghana

• Onslopogas 11 years ago

Ghana can even have Mourinho/Ferguson & Guardiola to coach alongside K.Appiah if we bring same team we may not even reach the semis.It was only by luck we got there.Revamp the team with other energetic and sharp players than ...

• Gargantuan 11 years ago

Sack that idiot.

• Coachito62 11 years ago

Folks, Kwasi Nyantakyi has decided to stick with his name sake. That is decision, but he must be told in plain language that the national team is not your personal property where you can do what you like with it. Have you con ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

KWASI APPIAH needs nothing but our prayers,moral support and faith to deliver.I am very pleased that the GFA has made their mind to go with this coach through thick and thin.THAT'S ALL TO THE SUCCESS.THE PROOF OF LOVE IS THE ...

• macho 11 years ago

nyantakyi your mother big tym. still keep the foooooollll. bcos you are a foooooooool.

• Bojangles 11 years ago

You idiots at the Ghana GFA, don't you know this guy does not have the brains to learn anything. He does not have the mental fortitude to improve so why bother? You are going to waste the taxpayers money to send him to where? ...

• Cornell 11 years ago

If this guy stays then qualification to the world cup will be out of question.

• johnson 11 years ago

ghana must know that their coach do not have knolage about football,i think it,s time take dezerye please ghana derzeye

• Kofi Best 11 years ago

Why don't we give this Guy one more chance and see how he is going to perform, I know he has he learnt a very great lesson, so please my fellow Ghananains Lets give him ONE MORE CHANCE

• kojo 11 years ago

kick appiah out of blackstar

• David, Wa. 11 years ago

The coch should try and bring experience players Appiah,Mensah,Dede etc to the team.

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

OUR TEAM IS GOOD BUT SOME OF OUR PLAYERS ARE SHOT SMALL AND NOT POWERFUL,ALSO THE REFREES TOO,HOW CAN TUNISIA REFREE BE REFREE GHANA AGEINST BURKINA BECAUSE GHANA BEAT TUNISIA ,4-2 WE SHOULD THINK ABOUT THAT TOO

• Johnny 11 years ago

Man, your brain is getting frozen up there. Come back home

• payola 11 years ago

iahae realised that all those supporting Nyantakyi to keep Akwasi don't follow football. How can you blame the ref? did you even watch the game?

• payola 11 years ago

I suspect they are zambians and nigerians.

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

Good decision. Keep him.

• odo 11 years ago

kwasi Appiah, is not a coach to leeds our country to the world stage please advice him to step down because even now he does not know the he did not use the players well,am saying this because i dnt think he can even qualify ...

• richard cobbina johannesburg 11 years ago

ghana can keep kwasi appiah, but forget about 2014 wold cup qualify.

• pintopinto 11 years ago

the coach must be fired. He dissolved a seasoned blackstars tyeam established by his predessesor and introduced an inexperience side. The nation cannot be throwing away its limited funds for mediocre performance

• kwakuyaw 11 years ago

did we questioned all this fake white coaches who came to ghana ? the answer is no . i think we need to keep him , give him more authority over the team ( no poilitics) . he did very well on a world stage and he deserve anoth ...

• Messenger 11 years ago

wheather ghanaians like it or not the man will continue to coach.when will ghannaians maintain a choach.he managed to take u to the semifinal and no one compained when he was winnig.what about the teams who didn't make it to ...

• omanbeye 11 years ago

In fact, the coach exhibited a weak performance at the afcon. And to allow him to continue as a coach of the Ghana Black Stars would worsen our woes. I suggest that either appoint Maxwell Kunadu, his assisstant or Silas Tette ...

• koo nti 11 years ago

Now i see the true character of kotoko supporters.Because it's Kwesi Appiah,now the centre of attention,they argue that he must be given some time.If it were Akonoor,Polo,Klutse,Awuley Quaye or Adolf,they would have said'cruc ...

• kotoko 11 years ago

all this big belle gfa dont wonna lose thier shere in aa salarie

• Paddy 11 years ago

Local coach won the cup.Keep him

• George 11 years ago

Look! My brother, what do mean by performance? AA have no experience as far as coaching is concern. How do you count on him to perform? GFA cannot just appoint AA as coach for the Black Stars when he has no profile to wr ...

NYANTAKYI N APPIAH MUST LEAVE BE ASSASSINATED. EMPOWER TONY BAFFOE FOR GFA HEAD, DESAILLY OR KONADU FOR COACH. U 2 IDIOTS HVE NOTHING MORE TO OFFER GH SOCCER, EXCEPT PAYOLA. AS LONG AS NYANTAKYI N AA ARE IN CHARGE I WILL ALWA ...

• ghanalover 11 years ago

Which club has Appiah coached before being appointed assistant coach?. GFA is a corrupt institution. Nyantekyi is corrupt and selects players for ghana. He ensures that his cousin or nephew big head Dereck Boateng is fielded ...

• victor marfo germany 11 years ago

Let Akwesi Appiah continue his coaching the Black stars desite his Failure to deliver the cup. Lets build him he is our own

• highlander 11 years ago

WE NEED TO GROWN OUR DOMESTIC TALENTS. TO DO THAT, WE MUST ENCOURAGE AND SUPPORT OUR OWN. I THINK KWASI APPIAH NEED TO BE IN-CHARGE. FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MANY YEARS, I SUPPORTED GHANA BLACK STARS SIMPLY BECAUSE WE HAVE A LOC ...

• FREDDIE 11 years ago

Very good move by Ghana. However, the Black Stars should be engaged in numerous friendlies as many as possible. Win or lose we have to encourage our sportsmen and women.

• J.o 11 years ago

I appreciate the need to develop on of our own. There are a lot of Ghanaians who don't follow African football and do not understand the game yet their criticising. They should remember that even the Essiens and John Mensah's ...

• JEFF 11 years ago

LET US GIVE KWESI APPIA ANOTHER CHANCE TO PROVE HIMSELF. HIS FIRST ATTEMPT WAS ABOVE AVERAGE HAVING REACHED THE SEMI-FINAL.

IM AGAINST GH! WAT AN ABOMINATION! GH IF FINISHED KOFE KOFE KOFE....
    NYANTAKYI N APPIAH MUST LEAVE NOW OR BE ASSASSINATED. EMPOWER TONY BAFFOE FOR GFA HEAD, DESAILLY OR KONADU FOR COACH.
    U 2 IDIOTS HVE NOTHING MORE TO OFFE ...

• albert adu-fosu 11 years ago

pls keep kwesi,he did his best.i am with you kwesi

• Gaaby 11 years ago

Appiah cannot take us to Brazil

• J. O 11 years ago

You need good strikers and defenders.
    Currently you don't have them so stop the too known.

• J. O 11 years ago

Ghanaians don't have the players that can bring the cup home at the moment yet they think their the best in Africa.

• TRUE 11 years ago

AKWASI MY ADVICE TO YOU IS THAT,YOUR DEFENCE IS WEAK,VOOSER IS LITTLE BIT OLD AND THE FORTH POSITION GUY IS ARROGANT,SO YOU HAVE PROBLEM WITH YOUR DEFENCE,SOME TIMES ALSO YOUR MIDFIELD ALSO BREAK AND THE MIDFIELDERS ALSO ARE ...

• J. O 11 years ago

It is better to suggest than to insult. The sensible ones knows that we don't have the players so they are bringing their ideas.

• soccer mantse 11 years ago

To be honest, the fate of Kwesi Appiah as the coach of the Blackstars is a real conundrum for the GFA (and all Ghanaians). Even for me an ardent believer in maintaining a local coach, to keep or not to keep Kwesi Appiah is a ...

• TRUE 11 years ago

KWASI APPIAH IS FROM DOMMA AHENKRO A VILLAGE CALLED TWIAPIASE TWO KILLOMETER TO IVORY COAST BORDER,HE IS FROM BORDER TOWN,WHEN HE WAS PLAYING AT KOTOKO PEOPLE SAID HE IS FROM KUMASI,NOW THEY WANT TO WHERE HE COME FROM,OH ASHA ...

• M. Mensah 11 years ago

Renamed the Black Stars as Wa All Stars and send the coaches to Europe for training and experimentation, if they loose matches because of their ineptitude we can say it is not our National team but a mafia club run by a cliqu ...

WHAT OBVIOUS PROBLEMS IS FACING KWASI APPIA? HE CAN VISIT ARGENTINA OR BRAZIL,IF HE IS NOT ALLOWED TO DO HIS OWN WILL but RATHER FORCED TO FIELD INCAPABLE PRAYERS BY THE CHOICE SENIOR OFFICIALS OF GFA AND OTHERS.I SUGGEST WE ...

• sa 11 years ago

akwasi appiah you dropped young players who had experience in the competetion before and you claim you have introduced new young players, watch a shame.

ADWEE LOOKING AA. AREA BURGER, AKROBETO LOOK ALIKE. IM SORRY!
    IF PLAVI WHO DIDNT GET ANY DEPUTY COACHING JOBS WITH GBSTAR COULD BE FIRED FOR NON PERFORMANCE AFTER BARELY 1 YR ON THE JOB.
    THEN THIS ADWEE LOOKING BB AKA AREA ...

• IDIOTS KEEPING AN IDIOT 11 years ago

TEACH APPIAH NOT BE TRIBALISTIC. TEACH APPIAH NOT TO BE VINDICTIVE. THESE ARE THE ONLY THINGS HE NEEDS TO LEARN.

• Kwesi Brenu Akyinim 11 years ago

And you have to educate your primitive Azonto soccer dancers to chanage their mindset from dancing to winning trophies

• YAW GYASI ANKOBEA 11 years ago

HOW CAN YOU KEEP SUCH A COACH WHO KEEPS ON FIELDING ASAMOAH GYAN EVEN IF GYAN IS PERFORMING BELOW EXPECTATIONS. WHY? BECOS GYAN IS THE CAPTAIN? EVEN Didier Drogba WAS DROPPED DURING IVORY COAST MATCHES.
    WHAT A SHAME ON O ...

• Awuradebasa 11 years ago

He's a waste...

• guru 11 years ago

Ghana people some of us are not serious at alllll. Nyantakyi, NYANTAKYI, NYANTAKYI, FIRE HIM. we have other proven and promising local coaches who will not select dead pigeons. Who will not play players out of position. Local ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 11 years ago

Its a good idea to keep him but he has to remove tribalism from the game. I still don,t understand why he removed penalty kicker when he knew that the game was going to that point. He is not a smart coach

• ghanaba 11 years ago

comments are like the write up. it is no doubt with such a thinking we shall ever fail. why going elsewhere? has any country has the monopoly of producing good coaches. nonsense

• KWESI 11 years ago

I am disappointed in GFA because if the GFA want Kwasi Appiah to build a team then they should have given under 17 to him to build not Black stars Black Stars is for experience and professionals so gfa should fine something ...

• thomas 11 years ago

The man is humble he push

• hamza adams 11 years ago

ithink each and every ghanaianis a stakeholder in da team blackstars and for dat matter our contribution as to wherther the coach should stay or leave must be accepted.The good people of Ghana i want u to tell da truth.is coa ...

• Lipstick on a Pig 11 years ago

If you put lipstick on a pig is still a pig. Let this guy go

• JH- New York City 11 years ago

Its a good idea to train one of our own as proposed by the GFA.But the idea is not feasible with Appiah as the coach.The reason is that one of his major problem is that he lacks the inborn ability to read a match in progres ...

• JH- New York City 11 years ago

Contd. is not found in Coaching book anywhere in the World.So what is GFA saying?GFA,look for a local Who can read a match give him further training and Stop wasting Tax payers Money Akwesi Appiah.Period !

• JH-m New York City 11 years ago

Contd. is not found in Coaching book anywhere in the World.So what is GFA saying?GFA,look for a local Who can read a match give him further training and Stop wasting Tax payers Money Akwesi Appiah.Period ! (Match in progress ...

• walk a lone 11 years ago

Keeping Appiah will be a complete deserster

ADWEE LOOKING AA. AREA BURGER, AKROBETO LOOK ALIKE. IM SORRY!
    IF PLAVI WHO DIDNT GET ANY DEPUTY COACHING JOBS WITH GBSTAR COULD BE FIRED FOR NON PERFORMANCE AFTER BARELY 1 YR ON THE JOB.
    THEN THIS ADWEE LOOKING BB AKA AREA ...

• NAADA 11 years ago

Let us empower our best and not just any coach. By what criteria did they arrive at Akwesi Appiah? Is he the best material available to us as a nation? Let us select the best and not who someone in the FA prefers.

• !@ 11 years ago

FORGET THE BLACK STARS & SUPPORT NIGERIA

• LETS SAVE BLACK STARS 11 years ago

I am willing to mobilize a task force to look into how we can remove the current GFA FROM OFFICE. Let me know if you will support me. I am serious

• della adabla 11 years ago

ghana is locky to have like abedi pelly, antoni yebua, and dezeyi i think is time for dezeyi

• 4 Year Old 11 years ago

Ghana sold the matches. They just used Kwasi Appiah who doesn't seem to know his left from right as a coach. Apart from his limited coaching skills and understanding, the officials used Kwasi Appiah to accomplish their aim, " ...

• iddris issahaq 11 years ago

Sorry in 2010 we had the same young squard which made to the finals of the afcon so where are those players

• YAW 11 years ago

DISASTER !!!!

• KWAKU 11 years ago

This is a dead sentence for Ghana football.

• Des Uk 11 years ago

I think we have a good coach.All that he needs is further course and support.Well, we did not do very well since we had less experience players. I hope we will do better next time.

• Shwazo Barcello 11 years ago

Hell nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Natural Mystic 11 years ago

"We wnat to empower our own". Fair enough but the question is should it be only Kwesi Appiah that should be empowered or there are other promising local coaches?

• the truth 11 years ago

like those who think appiah should be sacked can be better coaches.It only because of people like you we could not take the trohpy because,all the good penalty kickers did not want to kick the penalty,because no one wanted to ...

• ali abubakar 11 years ago

football is their job, is not ours job so they have to do it ,you are there talking nonsens,,

• GID, USA 11 years ago

why should we use try and error method to select a coach fro a tournament .why should we select appiah as a coach, is it a hiding coaching record, bring his coaching record on notable for ghanaians to see. don't blame him, bl ...

• samuel 11 years ago

yes i think gh shld keep akwasi appiah becos he was nt the problem but the problms were the players who had no egency on eir mind,no patriotic attitude.we shld search for good strikers n stop depending on our so called gyan

• ali abubakar 11 years ago

stupid,stupid,stupid,if ghana is sending him to corse in england ,that means he is not a coach is now he is going to lean how coach ,noooooooooooo ghana i never head that befor ,,,,

• Nyorkopio 11 years ago

Nothing good comes easily. To reach the semi finals of AFCON 2013 as a first time coach of Ghana Black Stars is no cheap achievement. Ghana Black Stars is in transition. AFCON 2013 performance is step in the right direction. ...

• DAN 11 years ago

We only have a school boys team and thats was the best we could do. it was so glaring that ghana is living on past glory.It was no surprise the men were separated from the boys.to be be able to excel as a player you must have ...

• Omo naija 11 years ago

I wil advise the ghaynians to pledge ur loyalty to nigeria if u want to progress in anytin esp. Football.come and learn the real soccer 4rm naija.nigeria,the home of mordern football

• O.G.O 11 years ago

If Ghana wants to keep kwasi appiah,he needs to continue his for another 5years else Ghana blackstar will collapse

• SELINA 11 years ago

I think all Ghanaians must commend Kwesi Appiah for a job well done despite his inability to lift the trophy. I think the GFA should maintain and encourage him. Bravo Kwesi