You are here: HomeNews2013 02 07Article 264362

Gyan gracious in defeat as Ghana miss final

Read Comments Comments (76)

• Boss 11 years ago

That is all the truth. You guys have done your best. Africa belongs to all Africans so if this is the time for Burkina, no complaints from me; they also deserve to pick it.

• Mr.N 11 years ago

You make your own luck by taking your chances you failed to take your chances.

• GA MAN 11 years ago

We need to change the coach in order to qualify for Brazil 2014.If we don't change the coach,Ghana will lose the on going world cup qualifiers.This coach cannot win even toilet roll for Ghana.

• Favour 11 years ago

SHAME,

• Ex-Coach, Spain 11 years ago

No doubt the only competent local coach we have is Sellas Tettah. GFA should give the job to him as soon as possible. Appiah can still be an assisstant coach to help Sellas Tetteh. At least he was able to discover Dauda, Waka ...

• Senior citizen---Germany. 11 years ago

Iam a true Ghanaian but let us face the fact that the Ghanaian team was underperformance and that necessitated our hummiliation by the stallons of Bokinabe. [1]The team could not meet the stallons boot for boot[2]The players ...

• peep game come take a look at my tele 11 years ago

Even if your right ghana were given the game to win and the failed,. Look at the team they brought to the cup it was clear from the start that they didnt want to win. TEAMM OF NOOBS

• moyo 11 years ago

Ghana went to the tournament with a poor technical bench and a striker who can't score within the stipulated time and can't even kick a penalty.

• Nsemblé 11 years ago

THIS STUPID GHANA IS EVEN DOOMED IN ADVANCE! RIGGING ELECTIONS, A LOT OF BAD DEEDS, LIES, INSULTS, PRACTIZING GAY AT SEAT OF GOVT! GOD IS FAR FROM GHANA

• huudu 11 years ago

the truth of the matter is that the coach is unquallified and inexperience based on the players he took and his poor selections in the turnament.

• MATHS @MARS 11 years ago

Yes I watched the game and I congratulate our boys. The Stallions worked hard, our boys worked as hard only luck did not smile on us. There were those chances we had and if luck were on our side, we would have gone ahead. You ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

It only hard work and training can get you a result there nothing like luck you made your own luck taking your chances. You watch the game but you did not see the coach lack of coaching judgement is that too luck? Why take ou ...

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 11 years ago

THE MOMENT ASAMOAH GYAN SENT A GONGRATULATORY MESSAGE TO JOHN MAHAMA HE SHOULD HAVE BEEN CHASTISED AND REMOVED FROM THE CAPTAINSHIP. THE NATIONAL TEAM IS ABOVE POLITICS AND NOT CATER TO THE WHIMS OF ANY POLITCAL PARTY. I USUA ...

• charlie 11 years ago

Evil forces attacked Gyan n blackstar that is why they lose bcos they are great n they played well yesterday. everybody scare of them how pansil hurt where is that come from

• ghanabush 11 years ago

bushman living in the states, people like you make the whites see us as monkeys

• Favour 11 years ago

REFEREE IS MAN OF THE MATCH.HOW DID GHANA FA AND BLACK STAES PAID THE REFEREEE?IS EVIL ACT,THANK GOD FOR JUSTICE.

• Terribly SpeCific 11 years ago

MR Boss, you said it all. At least Burkina has to taste AFCON cup too!!
    Gyan did not take penalty and yet, what happened? Some Ghanaians talk too much, HABA!!!!

• Favour 11 years ago

How much was the referee paid?CAF president and Black Stars of Ghana are disgrace to Africa continent for bribing referee against B/F.CAF president should resign and Black Stars should BAN for YEARS,The REFEREE should try for ...

• BALL ROLLING 11 years ago

GOD WILL punish you. Burkina even deserve many red cards. Did you see them playing football? They came kicking down down every person or thing they saw on the field. Had it been world cup they will all be shown red cards. We ...

• Favour 11 years ago

U AND UR COUNTRY HAVE BEEN PUNISHED ALREADY BY GOD.POOR COUNTRY LIKE GHANA PAYING REFEREE,THAT IS MATCH FIXING.

• Pencils 11 years ago

What do you want to say coward? Also are you comparing desert Burkina to Ghana? dont even go there ok? period

• King Ode 11 years ago

Stupid, who told you Burkina Faso won the game on lotteries of pernalty, did you not see that they were even robe of their penalties and red carded which they don't deserve, until Asamoah Gyan is kick out of black star and th ...

• Favour 11 years ago

THE VICTORY OF B/F OVER BLACK STARS OF GHANA IS JUSTICE FROM GOD.

• Boss 11 years ago

Kwesi, this is your first time ever as a substantive coach and to reach the top four is a big achievement. I know you will do better as the years go by. I know (and you also know) you will be crucified by Ghanaians but that i ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Give me one reason why we should give him a second chance? We did not give the same chance to the one before him for your information that was his first tournament too. I am all about results is this the results we as a count ...

• Theodore 11 years ago

Mr.N you need to shut that broody mouth of your fool.You are not the only one who watched the game.Do you want to tell us that,Ghana is the only Country that is entitle for a win in Africa?Please spear us all that your crap.T ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

You have to shut your dirty mouth. Apply common sense here. Go back and read what Boss wrote. I am trying to have human and common sense discussion with him. That is how you move a system and country forward. You cut the cr ...

• Sarskoberta 11 years ago

Nancy N, be for-real!
    "Give me one reason. culled.

Here is one too many:

He's been on the job barely one year and his record shows a vast improvement from what the expatriates
    did or has done in terms of goals scored. ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

OK I hear you.

• betty 11 years ago

we could all see 4rm yesterdays match that our players didnt play anything at all... our opponents did well. and they deserve it...

• nonsense egala 11 years ago

this coach must be sacked and sacked before the difficult moments befall the black stars. He does not know how select players. He is a perfect gentleman but the job is above him. We must aim at winning the cup even with one g ...

• Theodore 11 years ago

He still remains your head coach and save your breath bro.Appreciate your native coaches Ghanafo)na y3 gyimi gyimi dodo).

• Chris One 11 years ago

No one doubts that the Black Stars is a good, talented and tactical side, but their greatest undoing lately was their pride. After defeating Cape Verde, the Black Stars took the Burkinas for a ride and even bragged of the har ...

• Bayo 11 years ago

The Ghanaian Contributors are just too proud. Haba! To Ghana is the best Team on the continent, forgetting that it was only in 2006 that Ghana went to her first world after nearly 50 years after independence.In addition, they ...

• one man soldier 11 years ago

The BS were too boastful and mouthy, just like the ivory coast who boasted they are going to roast the Super eagles of Nigeria alive, but who roasted who now. in the case of the BS, maybe they think their exploit at the last ...

• PYTHAGORAS 11 years ago

Chris One says the undoing of the BS was their pride and their bragging that they would unleash great harm on the Nigerian team possibly at the finals.Honestly, I have been following the AFCON tournament closely and no where ...

• brother in egypt 11 years ago

we dont want 3rd position.poor striker u must go now,u devide black stars.............

• Amina 11 years ago

Defeat is not Gyan`s fault there were ten other players on the field.Those of you bashing Gyan should stop and think twice.May be this kind of behaviour of ours put K/Boateng off.How about Essien who put his money making befo ...

• Favour 11 years ago

How much GHANA FA AND BLACK STARS PAID THE REFEREE?THEY THINKS THEY CAN FOOL EVERYBODY THROUGH CAF AND THERE DUBIOUS REFEREE,BUT GOD IS BIGGER,STRONGER.WHAT A SHAME.CAF PRESIDENT SHOULD RESIGN.THANK GOD FOR B/F,GYAN IS TALKIN ...

• BALL ROLLING 11 years ago

Football should be a game with skills but Burkina lacks this skills. They came fighting and kicking down every player. Do you see them as footballers?
    They can not try those non sense if it were the world cup. The are only q ...

• Favour 11 years ago

WHERE U BLIND TO THAT CLEAN GOAL BY B/F?AND ALSO RULE OUT TWO PENALTY.INSTEAD PENALTY THE REFEREE ISSUE RED CARD.THAT REFEREE NEED TO BE ARESTED,BLACK STARS BAN.IT WAS SERIOUS CRIME TO FOOTBALL LOVERS,CAF PRESIDENT JUST HAVE ...

• DANCE 11 years ago

@FAVOR ..GET OUT OF HERE ...ANAGO MAN! WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT FOOTBALL.GO AND REF THE REST OF THE MATCHES ...

• kams 11 years ago

I agree. The Burkinabe did not come to play footbakk. They were out to hurt our boys and win by hook or crook. Unfortunately the refree condoned their indiscipline. Shame on you.

• Goody 11 years ago

Nigeria : Gold. Burkina Faso : Silver. Mali : Bronze. Ghana : Charcoal.

• dodi 11 years ago

Ha ha haha ah haaah hahaha! Ghana Deserves Charcoal

• Akosua Faibille 11 years ago

I had written in past weeks that the coach's decision are questionable and he seemed to be making serious strategic and tactical mistakes.
    I stated that the exclusion of Dede Ayew who has exceptional qualities that others in ...

• Favour 11 years ago

The man of the MATCH IS REFEREE.CAF NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED.HOW MUCH GHANA AND BLACK STARS PAID THE REFEREE?

• Mr Truth 11 years ago

he is gonna tell you the best team won the day ,that they did their best and the field was not good ,what else do you want for an excuse .

• Mohamado Mostafa 11 years ago

I have given Kwesi Appiah all my support because of the belief that a local coach should be given a chance. But I am so dissappointed in him in the sense that he could not use the defenders available properly and his selecti ...

• gomido 11 years ago

Why Mr Appiah accepted that the team should play there in the first place,after seeing the roughness of it on arrival?I think they have right to protest earlier for change of venue.Vorsah's penalty testifies to this.Its very ...

• NII 11 years ago

Hey Gomido or wAT U CALL URSLF, LEAVE DE PITCH OUT OF THE RESULT, DID THE bURKINABES PLAYED ON A DIFFERENT PITCH? CALL A SPADE A SPADE WE WERE JUST NOT 'GOOD FOR PURPOSE, WHY KWOJO ASAMONAH IN DEFENCE WHILE WE NEEDED GOALS? H ...

• why 11 years ago

Ghana blak starsare toooooooooooooooooooooo know.

• BEN 11 years ago

WHO IS THIS ASAMOAH GYAN AT ALL AND WHAT HAS HE DONE TO GFA,FROM DAY ONE HE WAS INTRODUCED TO GHANA FOOTBALL I HAVE SAID HE IS NOT A FOOTBALLER NEITHER CAN HE BE A STRIKER.THE SECRET OF THIS STARTED LAST YEAR AND ASEM BEBA DA ...

• maks 11 years ago

Gyan get your boys to focus and please give us the bronze. We love you guys no more heartaches.

• Ben 11 years ago

The Black Stars are overrated on the continent and they suck!

• jayuk 11 years ago

Well done boys we are proud

• Sam. 11 years ago

The problem was not with the players but the technical team. How can you leave top class players out and bring in players like Adoma whom you wont to promote.

• Arsene Wenger, Brooklyn 11 years ago

Talent, tactics and determination win games….
    I have watched and played football for 20 years.
    It boggles my mind why Kwado Asamoah n Anthony Annan
    arguably the 2 best pairing on the team would be separated.
    And eve ...

• kapo papapaaa 11 years ago

Why should we change the coach? If we fire him are we not going to bring in a new coach ? I think we should keep him and correct our mistakes for next time... Hey Burkina Faso too be country okay

• SLY 11 years ago

You guys must learn togerther how to play and score penalties and stop fooling. Why are u professionals.

• lali 11 years ago

Hi i think SLY is the only Person here to post something with sense.They should learn how to score penalties, to schot. it is the same mistake since i watch ur team appart from the U20 in 2010.

• Charlie King Addo 11 years ago

Some answers here today shows maturity. The referee almost killed the match for whatever reason. He was number 12 for the Ghana team and we still lost. Thank God for that. For if we had faced Nigeria with these school boys ...

• Ern 11 years ago

1. Football is football, anybody can win. Even Ivory Coast which has a team full of quality did not make it, so what makes you think Ghana has a right to win.
    2. The Ayew brothers were there last year and Ghana fell at the S ...

• *** *** 11 years ago

Brother Ern, thank you. You really, really understand the game. Keep on feeding the masses with your good thoughts. Now I'm down but if things get better, we gonna talk.

• Ern 11 years ago

Thank you sir! I am also down, but I hope we all feel better soon. I will be supporting Burkina Faso for the final. They deserve it for their effort!

• Kuoro 11 years ago

SHAME WITHOUT THE PENALTY THE STARLIONS OF BURKINA FASO WOULD HAVE WON THE GAME ALL THE SAME. NO BLACK STAR PLAYER PUT THE BALL INTO THE NET OF THEIR OPPONENTS. WHY? BAD LUCK IS FOLLOWING GHANA.

• yolo 11 years ago

never seen fools like this before...relaxing because they're one goal ahead..have they not seen that such a mentality is always been punished

• Hebert, Sweden 11 years ago

Hi ! you guys must accept defeat and congratulate our neigbours "BURKINA BE". They played very classic than we Ghanaians. And I promise you, they will take the Championship CUP.

• DORBIN EMMANUEL 11 years ago

well done! it is not our luck

• one man soldier 11 years ago

So What happens to all the braggins, pride, ego, u forgot that being a favorite does not make u a champion. Right from the first match of this tournament, the BS were not spectacular, it was referee that guided them to this s ...

• KA 11 years ago

Please don't blame the Coach and the players too much. It was just unfortunate that we lost. Please keep this team and the Coach for another ten years and the time to shine will come shortly.

• Ninja 11 years ago

Gyan is a monumental failure

• KALA BULE 11 years ago

Match was fixed.

• Gen Ballson 11 years ago

toughness and indicipline causing the black Stars down fall. Just look at Vorsah blonde hair and Gyan's dye drawing in the hair. They rather on show off than playing football. Also they were afraid of injuring themselves to c ...

• Yaa Asentewaa + Kwame Nkrumah 11 years ago

The Ghana national football team will always be as good as the Ghana's Absolutely Rubbish + Third World "Economy" and "Quility of Life" for it's citizens.

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

Next time, Asamoah Gyan shouldn't make promises he cannot keep; he promised the illegitimate president, John Mahama the AFCON-2013 trophy. Many people were silent about his statement, but disagreed or didn't believe it. But m ...