You are here: HomeNews2013 01 23Article 262894

NDC's Joinder Application: How the Supreme Court judges ruled!

Read Comments Comments (94)

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

The first victory for the NDC has been achieved. A second one will follow suit when the main petition filed by the NPP challenging the 2012 election results is heard. After that, who knows?

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

For a party whose eight-year rule showcased politics as the most lucrative venture in Ghana, one can only understand why they very much relish the “return” of those days. There were days in Ghana when wealth was abound at ...

• BAM 11 years ago

THE JUDITIARY IS CORRUPT. ALL THE NPP NEED TO DO IS TO SEEM THEM BEHIND CLOSED DOOR AND GIVE THEM SOME OF THE COCAINE MONEY.

• The NDC Weak Minds Are Back 11 years ago

Just mark it on the wall. NPP will win this case by 6 - 3 for a rerun of the elections. We will see how NDC takes this.

• GENERAL DeGAULE 11 years ago

The petitioner is not asking for a re run of the elections. he is asking the SC to universally declare him President based on the audit of a selected sample of polling stations results.

• The NDC Weak Minds Are Back 11 years ago

Mrs Justice Bamfo said if the Supreme Court should come to a decision that the presidential elections should be re-run the applicant would still play a critical role in the selection and sponsoring of its candidate.

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 11 years ago

WE SHALL SEE HOW THIS WILL END. GOD IS ALWAYS BEHIND JUSTICE. NDC WILL NOW HAVE NO EXCUSES WHEN EC AND MAHAMA LOOSE AT THE END.
    IT'S SO SAD. GHANAINS ARE SO FICKLE MINDED, THEY HAVE FORGOTTEN HOW THIS GUYS HAVE RAIDED OUR NA ...

• AKU 11 years ago

THANK GOD YOU ARE ALSO A GHANAIAN. WE NEED TO MIND OUR SPEECH NOT TO USE POLITICAL PLATFORMS TO INSULTS OURSELVES.

• kofi essoun 11 years ago

The Asantes and Akyems on one side of the bench ruled in favour of NPP just like the real voting last year.God save mother Ghana.

• Prince Amoah 11 years ago

NPP should think about 2016 and stop ''cantata joke''at supreme court

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Mahama has no chance to be called am
    election winner, he would be thrown out from the Castle and give way to
    Nana Akuffo Addo.

Nana Akuffo Addo is our credible President not a corrupt and thievery
    Mahama and his NDC cro ...

• HOME BOY 11 years ago

Please sir, we re reading your comment so use the right words.The WORD AM is different from AN. Thank you. But know that God have His ways.

• Novembre 11 years ago

The arguments put forward by the loosing judges describes it all. They were fighting an Ashanti tribal battle. LITTLE MINDS SHAAAAAAAMMMMMMEEEEEE!!!!!1

• KOFI DEI 11 years ago

What has it got to do with Ashantis?
    Ah! wat do u want Ashanti's to do. Look wat u say wudn't change who we are.

• KONKONSA 11 years ago

IS IT TRUE THAT THE NATIONAL DEMOCRATIC PARTY (NDP)OUR NATION OUR FUTURE WAS BEEN FINANCED BY SOME MEMBERS OF THE NPP?

• ko 11 years ago

Do not cry foul the next time when judgement favors NPP

• YawMan 11 years ago

Mrs Justice Bamfo said if the Supreme Court should come to a decision that the presidential elections should be re-run the applicant would still play a critical role in the selection and sponsoring of its candidate.

_------ ...

• Taamiawu 11 years ago

The elections? through 'vodoo' math,Nana Addo wants to be declared the President,is`nt it? And btw, which PARTY`S program would he be implementing, in the unlikely event his petition is upheld?

• AWUKU,ACCRA 11 years ago

Kudos, guys,national interest is SUPREME,it overides party interest.The judges must be commended for a good job done,and they must remember that nation first.

• VIGILANTE 11 years ago

Ghana for you. These JUDGES used their comon sense/ emotions to pass judgement instead of what the LAW SAYS. But remember, when the laws are being manipulated, the thoughtful citizen forsee uncertainties in the future. A WORD ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

This ruling will be discussed by legal experts and students of Law for some time to come. It is very interesting that, even the dissenting Justices agreed that NDC has interest in the petition but that interest could be pursu ...

• brains 11 years ago

woo good one they

• Kwasi Miezah, Western Region 11 years ago

NDC is not intervening they are joining. There's a difference between joining and intervention.

• Jogate 11 years ago

The supreme Judges don't even know the difference
    Hey Kwasi, You are in form!

• Atsiglini 11 years ago

In fact Kwasi Miezah, I am also impress with your reasoning.In fact some of you could make better SC judges. As for the judge who said that he did so to hide his sympathy for the petitioners.

• KOFI BOADU 11 years ago

I don't think any of u guys are smart. Can anybody file to join the case because they think their votes had been switched to another candidate?? NDC did not win or lose any election so why allow them to join. It was Mahama wh ...

• EDENSU 11 years ago

Article 64 (1)of the Constitution of the Republic of Ghana stipulates as follows: "The validity of the election of the President may be challenged only by a citizen of Ghana who may present a petition for the purpose to the S ...

• DAVID ATUGIYA 11 years ago

NDC by the fact that they selected and sponsored President Mahama won the elections. Mahama is NDC and NDC is Mahama.
    Simply read the ruling by Justice
    Atuguba below which provides a compelling case for granting NDC's joind ...

• MAMA 11 years ago

DO NOT BE SURPRISE. ANIN YEBOAH ATTEMPTED SEVERAL TIMES TO JOIN THE BENCH UNDER PNDC BUT FAILLED.KUFFOUR EMPLOYED HIM AND BAFFOE BONNIE HIS RELATIONS.

• kpakpa 11 years ago

Nothing has happened yet and you are explaining off the reasons for why some judges ruled the way they did, what about the others, does the converse hold? stop this.

• KOFI DEI 11 years ago

lOOK LET ME TELL YOU, THE BAFFOE-BONNIE FAMILY IS A RESPECTED FAMILY. WE RESPECT OUR CULTURE AND OUR ELDERS THUS WHY WE DON'T DRAG DAGGERS TO KILL OURSELVES LIKE SLAUGTERING ANIMALS BUT SETTLE ISSUES BU WORD OF MOUTH.

• Kojo Appiah, NY 11 years ago

The NPP surrogates have started showing their teeth; we are watching!

• Akoffo Addo 11 years ago

if you know and understand the constitution,read article 55 and 66 and get to understand it well well.now first tell me the arguments put forward for the joinder was not satisfactory?the party has a direct effect of the outco ...

• Setho 11 years ago

Mr Justice Baffoe Bonney said although the applicants were able to demonstrate they have vested interest in the case, they failed to convince the court how they became a necessary party.

He said the law clearly indicates p ...

• Atsiglini 11 years ago

Yes the interest of the NDC as a political party(group) will always be more than John Mahama a single person. Shallow minded judge.

• Boat 11 years ago

I am surprised how these three made it to the SC. Baffoe is smart to make a better argument, he could still not hide his bias, the other two could not make sense with their arguments, show of no neutrality, total bias even th ...

• KOFI DEI 11 years ago

HE IS WISER THAN 100 NORTHNERS BECUASE HE SETTLES ISSUES WITH WISDOM AND BY WORD OF MOUTH NOT CUTLASS AND GUNS. ANIMALS!!!!

• retired soldeir 11 years ago

all npp lawers bought their certificate,includind akuffo addo.

• Kojo Yeye 11 years ago

Find out how many times NDC has lost cases in the courts. Why have they not been able to imprison one NPP minister even they accuse them of corruption? They lost all such cases. Shut up if you do nit know the truth.

• dd 11 years ago

the reason the NDC were not able to imprison NPP is that, they are thievs and always distroy evidence and buy judges at all time. they are criminals i man special criminals, but they are know been exposed and very soon they w ...

• Joe 11 years ago

This is round one win for NDC but they (NDC) should not tickle themselves because the lawyers of both Mahama and NDC are similar pursing the same goal, nothing different, and cannot change the final outcome of the case which ...

• kululu 11 years ago

Baffoe B and Anin Y's conclusions makes more sense to me.however, all we need is peaceful and acceptable judgement to all parties. Only few are going to enjoy politically and they are the ones to shout on top of other voices, ...

• AGYEMAN 11 years ago

BAFFOE BONNIE IS A USELESS JUDGE. IF THE NDC LAWYERS FAILED TO CONVINCE THE COURT, HOW DID THEY WIN BY 6-3?.IF THE NDC IS IRRELEVANT IN THIS CASE, THEN JAKE OBITSEBI SHOULDN'T HAVE JOINED NANA ADDO & HIS MATE.THOUGH NANA IS I ...

• Jogate 11 years ago

By their rulings (fruits), we shall know them all and tag them well

• Taamiawu 11 years ago

Justices are going to decide the case on the basis of evidence, then forget it. thanks to Fmr Pres Kuffour,they have the upper hand, and that is what has emboldened Nana Addo and company to act with so much 'confidence'; but ...

• effo yaw 11 years ago

the six justices who ruled in favour of their party are all known ndc people and GOD is watching them.

• Boy 11 years ago

Hmmm asem beba dabi?

• Akoffo Addo 11 years ago

the arguments put forward by Mr Baffoe Bonney lacks merit,this is because,if the NDC can channel whatsoever they wanted through the respondent,then a question is raised,why can't the NDC be there in person.the party is DIRECT ...

• Nana Bawuah 11 years ago

" voice recorder or a video"

audio or video recordings are not allowed to be used in court. Since it is illegal to record someone without their knowledge.

By the way, you are a funny guy, assuming videos and audio recordings are the only credible source of evidence hahahaha

She did not explain how this channelling of the NDC's interest could take place. Your interest is vested in you as a person or legal entity and is not meant for channelling.

• kankama 11 years ago

I hope this case will be treated with care no bias. The whole world is watching.Please we don't want any disgrace.We have respect outside let keep it.Thanks

• Yao Tee 11 years ago

Posterity will surely judge all in this particular case. Our dear nation is at the cross roads. God Almighty help us.The TRUTH will surely win this unneccesary debate.

• Jogate 11 years ago

"Mr Justice Baffoe Bonney said although the applicants were able to demonstrate they have vested interest in the case, they failed to convince the court how they became a necessary party"

• Jogate 11 years ago

If the NDC were able to demonstrate that they had a vested interest and they had filed a joiner on which you as a judge was sitting on, why ask how they became a party to the case?

• BIssy 11 years ago

You were all put in a very difficult position. However, you all managed to come out with flying colours. You all won the day since denying the joiner application would have prolong the main court case. God bless you all for a ...

• Oh Ghana 11 years ago

Freedom and Justice
    This is Third World Justice in display
    Winner Takes All justice
    I appoint you judge and you rule in my favour or you're fired

• Asantenee Kwaku Bratuo 11 years ago

The majority of justices' to this ruling have delivered a concessionary judgment. The letter of the law has not been demonstrated as the opposing judges have pointed out. The weight and clout of the ruling government and thei ...

The letter of the law is considered side by side with the spirit of the law.
    The poignant view to note is the Justices ruling that;
    "political parties including the NDC were integral part of the current democratic dispensat ...

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

The justices on both sides are humans after all. Those who argued against the joiner said the first respondent can "deal with the case on behalf of the party". So, couldn't Nana and Bawumia also do the same with Jake? In my o ...

• Boat 11 years ago

My friend, you should have bold enough to say, Jake should not have joined and also say that Bawumia should also have not enjoined himself to the case.

See, Baffoe's argument falls flat by the very involvement of Jake and ...

• Boat 11 years ago

"you should have been bold"

• DAVID ATUGIYA 11 years ago

Paul, the arguements by the Justices against the joiner while I very much respect thier views I fundamentally disagree with them because those views or opinions are neither sound nor reasonable.

Justice Atuguba's ruling i ...

• Simon Loghod 11 years ago

I strogly am of the view that sometimes, you don't need to be a lawyer before drawing a conclusion on certain matters. This is one of such and I think NDC as a party have every right to join in the petition by the NPP.

• Simon Loghod 11 years ago

I strogly am of the view that sometimes, you don't need to be a lawyer before drawing a conclusion on certain matters. This is one of such and I think NDC as a party have every right to join in the petition by the NPP.

• Ishak 11 years ago

Second defeat to NPP,soon they will start crying in court ewith baseless argument.......Nana Addo shame!

• Asantehene 11 years ago

NPP HAS LEARNING LAWYERS BUT NDC HAS TEACHERS OF THE LAWYERS.

• THE TEXAN 11 years ago

Atuguba has to recuse himself from this case for conflict of interest as he was just sworn in some few months ago by Mahama,it will never happened in the civilised world where justice is paramount.Check this US had elections ...

• Boat 11 years ago

My friend, the Justice is not part of Mahama's government. Please check the fact.

• JAMES ADDO 11 years ago

R U SAYING WE R NOT CIVILIZED?

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

"Oh, please excuse me!" said the bunny. "I didn't mean to trip over you, but I'm blind and couldn't see you there."

"That's perfectly all right," replied the snake. "It was MY fault. I didn't mean to trip you, but I'm blin ...

• AWUDU 11 years ago

I saw Prophet Solomon of the Old Testament sitting in judgment in the Supreme Court: wisdom, fairness, justice. What baffles me is the contradictory statement of Justice Baffoe Bonney: that NDC "demonstrated they have a veste ...

The case has not even started and the NDC riff-raffs are already crying hahaha

• Drake (u.s.a) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• Dan Botwe 11 years ago

It is possible the judges affiliations to political parties can affect the judgement? I think so and those judges should be careful not to do anything out of selfish interest.

I PERFECTLY AGREED WITH YOU.

• Concerned Ghanaian 11 years ago

The 3 justices who ruled to oppose the application are most wise judges in Ghana who will never sell their conscience for money but will always uphold and defend the truth and the constituition.

• kofi essoun 11 years ago

Justice Baffoe Bonnie mentioned the petition before the court as NPP petition and yet did not agreeed that NDC as a party shuold join.What is the sense?

• YAW DONKOR 11 years ago

If the facts are true that there was cheating in the elections (Dec. 7. 2012, then all parties have the right to contest. Just close the case. mahama's business as usulal with no contradictions.

• YAW DONKOR 11 years ago

close the case. Every party would have a chance to contest if NPP wins the CASE

• Kaymensah 11 years ago

Sound arguments from both sides, but the majority's view held sway. Round 2 beckons.

• The same 11 years ago

nana adowa can not be a president in Ghana how can two bush animals come home? adowa and elephant. NO!!!!

I SEE THE COURT CASE AS A SUIT AGAINST THE MINORITIES OF THIS LAND FROM THE MAJORITY TRIBES. GHANA IS FOR ALL OF US. PLEASE NOTE THAT.
    I HOPE THE EVENTUAL OUTCOME WILL PUT TO REST ALL MATTERS ARISING OR PERTAINING TO THE UNI ...

• COMMON SENSE 11 years ago

So is a whole Supreme Court Judge equating the capacity of a petitioner to sue with that of the locus standi of a respondent?? The law maker did not intend so otherwise it would have clearly stated that a respondent,intereste ...

• Akua P 11 years ago

God help us

• Joseph A. 11 years ago

The court shoul not any mistake and rule in favour of Nana. The country will be in choirs,that is, it will to NDC,NPP war and generate into tribal war.Iwant to appeal to the high court of ghana to be extra careful on this cas ...

• Akwa 11 years ago

If votes are found to have been "balaoed" or stolen, then cancelling those votes will not be a mistake.And if there are enough cancellations to overturn the results then NDC would not have won in the first place so there will ...

• Mr ADDY 11 years ago

The nation is never happy at all, look at the joy in the eyes of Ghanaian's out there. faded! Nana Addo, -God will surely make a way. Mahama, pls dnt be like the wicked brother who took his brother's blessings in the bible. S ...

• Akwa 11 years ago

NPP wins by 5-4 because lookig at all the arguments by the judges collectively, one can see that NDC may be an intrested party alright but their direct involvement or otherwise would yield the same effect. Therefore the only ...

• BAFFOE BONNEY, YEBOAH & ANSAH DONKEY 11 years ago

I think Baffoe Bonney, Yeboah and Ansah are donkeys.

What will happen to this case if, God forbid, Mahama should die today? Will the case against Mahama be dismissed because Mahama is no longer alive? The individual may d ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

After reading your comment I began wondering if the president should die today will the NPP change their suit and rather go after Amissah Arthur?

• sally 11 years ago

I WISH YOU JUDGES WOULD CALL FOR FRESH ELECTION SO THAT THERE WILL BE NO HIDING MACHINES AND CHANGING OF FIGURES.I KNOW NDC CANNOT MAKE THEIR OWN POLLING STATIONS AGAIN.

• Oppong Kyekyeku 11 years ago

The 16th paragraph of the article seem to be a departure from precedence and this discretionary ruling could better be done at a palace!